People and their inspirational quotes on social media :(

in #socialmedia2 years ago

Maybe I just have an attitude problem but I really don't like it when I see friends of mine trying to give inspirational quotes on social media. It's almost a sort of patronizing way for them to act as though they are better than everyone else because they have their lives together and are at peace with the universe, even though that is almost never the case.

I saw this the other day and it made me think of how this is 95% true of the people that I have met in my own life.


image.png

Yep, that's the truth! One case in point is this woman I went to high school with and she has 2 kids with a father that is no longer part of her life. I have no idea what she does for a living and she went to jail for a few years before she had the kids. She doesn't deal with the dark side of the law anymore but she certainly isn't the type of person that anyone should be taking life advice from.


image.png
src

I prefer these kinds of images which are called demotivational posters. You should look them up one day because they are a lot of fun.

There is another woman that I know that is always blowing up instagram and FB with her wisdom of the week and this girl was like "Jenny" in Forrest Gump. She lived an incredibly irresponsible 20's and when her 30's rolled around she got married to someone extremely wealthy. Now, as far as I can tell from afar, she doesn't actually do anything except sponge off of him. Yet, she does find the time in her life to run a "happy guru" podcast and youtube channel that almost nobody tunes in for. I listened to one of these thing and after just a little while of her telling everyone else how they should live their lives to be as happy as she is, I wanted to virtually slap her because I know the real story.


image.png
src
No, I don't know Anna Nicole and that is not who I am talking about... but it's similar

She was blessed with good genes, was really attractive, went all over the world and kept up her slutty ways until she had done all the drugs that she could and had a bunch of notches in her sexual belt from all over the world. Fearing old age was going to get the best of her, she latched on to a much older and much richer man that she met and now she is on auto-pilot for the rest of her life.

What her podcast should say if people want to achieve the same level of happiness and zen that she has found can be summed up in these two steps

  • Be born attractive and focus almost entirely on your looks
  • Marry a rich guy

That's basically her entire story and all the meditation and other shite that she is talking about is just what she fills her time with now that she no longer travels and is being forced to some degree to live a domesticated life. I would imagine that she is a real handful for the husband. What do i know though? They could genuinely be in love but if you saw them, you would probably be thinking the same thing that I am in that the girl is a gold-digger opportunist.

I think the internet has turned a lot of people completely nuts and these two friends of mine are hilariously bad at hiding what things are really like in their life. It's just funny to me that the truly successful people that I know tend to not use social media at all... let alone to brag about their accomplishments.

Sort:  

I once found a quote on Instagram that resonated so much in my heart that I decided to get a tattoo of it. Later, over the years, looking at the tattoo, I found the strength to deal with difficult situations that made me feel weak. Three more years later I found out it was a phrase from an NF song: "If God ain't real, real isn't". I found other NF songs on Spotify and wanted to learn more about him. He inspired me with his simplicity and depth of thought. He's a living legend.

I know this song. It helped me to cope with some difficulties in my life, because it is filled with a lot of meaning. I really like the work of this artist.

interesting. I'll be sure to check that out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43