Is the pressure too much for our kids? Social media and the way we live, Is this something that contributes to school shootings?

in #socialmedia6 years ago (edited)


(photo by Scott Kelly/ NASA)

The world is changing. This is nothing new because since the beginning of time the Earth has been changing. Things change and we as humans try to adapt to the changes. Social media has been put into our world as an everyday way of communication and no matter how long you try to avoid it over time it seems to get more and more involved in our everyday lives.

For the record I have not enjoyed social media as it has been put into everyday life. I think it may be putting too much pressure on us and especially our kids. I see people just putting too much info online, what you bought, where you ate, who your dating etc...

I see this become a competition between friends and family. Your proud of the new house or car you bought and that is understandable because you probably worked really hard for it and based on seeing what everyone else does you may be inclined to post pictures and a story about how you bought the item. Then of course in human nature we try to top each other either by showing that you have something better than the next person. If you dont have something better than the next person I see two ways people respond.

They either respond by tearing down the item someone got part by part. ( Great car , but I dont like that model because the even though it claims to have 250HP it really only has 215 blah, blah blah) I am sure we all know people like this. They are always quick to point out some stupid flaw to make your item seem not as good. Then you have a people that just lie and say they bought something better than you.
You bought a nice house there. I also am buying a new house. Its a vacation house that cost a pretty penny but I figured I'm worth it.

These things are not new to life and were there long before social media. The problem with social media is it can't be turned off. Its there 24/7. You get made fun of at school you go home and see that people have been commenting about you all day and night.

I had a choice for the most part since I graduated in 2000. I was on myspace for a while for my Dj career but I was getting older and eventually got out of the pro dj business. My mom of all people kept telling me " you have to get a facebook account" My wife was being told the same thing by her family. We got sick of hearing it so we made one together. Of course everyone was mad. " You can't do that!" Well we did. That was probably about 10 years ago. I have many friends from highschool on there and friends from different parts of my life.

What is nice is since I dont go on much at all no one expects anything from me. If you do post all the time people think you are missing if you post all the time and then stop for a week or so. "OMG I have not seen Roger post anything is a week I hope he is ok." Its like an extra pressure to keep up appearances online. Almost like another job. "Have to go online and post something otherwise people will think something is wrong with me."

We are in our mid 30's now and seeing the school shootings that seem to keep happening I am wondering if social media has a part in it. Putting too much pressure on the kids to be on and visible 24/7. Like an actor that never gets a break. Put that on top of the other things you have to deal with as a teenager it is a stressful way of life with no outlet or time away.

I dont have an answer for this problem. If all your friends are online you have to be there too. As a teen today I think you have to be online. If you can find a way to balance your life on and off line that would help but easier said than done. One suggestion I have is there should be a large government sponsored program for a hotline teens can call to just talk and get things off their chest. It really helps to have someone to talk to, especially when you don't have to worry about the person your talking to posting your secrets online to your friends and family.

Good luck us all and I hope we can figure a way to make things a more peaceful society

Sort:  

Hey, @adamdonmez Welcome Back Dear................
Are you fine?
your photo shot is simply amazing.and you post is so good.

Thanks but I can't take credit for the photo. Scott Kelly took that from the space station. He always took great photos! Anyway I am fine just been busy lately. Hope all is well with you

Thanks for sharing your feelings.Thank you so much dear @adamdonmez

Same feelings dude, people cannot digest others success easily and to make him/her feel down they do any thing they like. The world is so jealous. And social media has brought that more.

Enjoyed reading your article. Your post deserves my vote :)

Followed you so won't be missing good post to read

This post has received votes totaling more than $50.00 from the following pay for vote services:

appreciator upvote in the amount of $30.12 STU, $43.18 USD.
jerrybanfield upvote in the amount of $24.63 STU, $35.31 USD.

For a total calculated value of $55 STU, $78 USD before curation, with a calculated curation of $14 USD.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform and is by no means a judgement as to the quality of this post.

Congratulation adamdonmez! Your post has appeared on the hot page after 42min with 50 votes.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Personally, I don't see school shootings being caused by social media directly.

Rather, it probably has more to do with the disintegration of the family unit that makes children more prone to mental disorders. And why the family unit is in danger is another can of worms all together...

You COULD however make a case that the destruction of the nuclear family makes kids more prone to be addicted to social media and bear the consequences of its excessive use.

I would guess there are many pieces to the puzzle and hopefully we can get the full picture one day.

I’m completely against children being on social media ! I think that our children don’t know how to deal with and handle the situations that we grew up with bc there is so much virtuality out there. I think our kids need to learn how to handle and deal with problems not shoot people bc they were picked on.

Hi, thank you for contributing to Steemit!

I upvoted and followed you; follow back and we can help each other succeed :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85