Social Security Disability Insurance

in #social6 years ago

Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) benefits, different from standard Social Security Insurance (SSI) for retirement, pay a percentage of your salary if determined by SSDI that you are one hundred percent disabled. Not fifty percent or eighty percent but one hundred percent disabled.

I am one of the one hundred percent group of Americans identified as disabled by Social Security.

There are very, very few of us receiving these benefits because number one, one has to have a grave illness or handicap that prevents them from performing the work in which they have a profession and have contributed to Social Security. Number two it is extremely, if not impossible, to receive these benefits. Luckily the more one contributes to SSDI the more they receive of their salary but is capped at a certain amount. Again, luckily I receive the most available to individuals because I worked many years and made great money.

The illness bipolar disorder or what used to be called manic depression began affecting me in my early - mid thirties. Since then I have only been hospitalized twice. I take my meds first thing in the morning. For all intents and purposes I come across as very normal. I socialize, I contribute to society through public service, and I understand my limitations.

I hope my honesty and transparency help those with mental illness make it out of the shadows and into this beautiful world and live a life that is fulfilling.

Sort:  

Congratulations @chrisontheleft! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58450.19
ETH 2652.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43