Careful what you wish for

in #social-media7 years ago

in the loo at demos

Being a popular blogger is a double-edged sword. You put yourself out there everyday. You share intimate details of your life and thinking. You talk about what you're doing, where you're going, who you're seeing. It's very easy, in this situation for other people to start to think that they know you. It's also easy for them to forget that there's a human being behind the blog. We've become very used over the years to the idea that "media personalities" aren't real people, or that the real people are somehow insulated from what we think about them by their lifestyles and usually large amounts of money. If people earn their living by being visible, we say they shouldn't expect anything else, after all, we pay their wages, don't we? And they're asking for it, aren't they? They know the game, they benefit from grabbing our attention, but they don't like it when it's the "wrong" kind. Well yes and no - now that we can all play the game we're getting to see the other side of that experience. We want to be popular, but not that popular...

So be careful what you wish for:

  • I wish more people read my stuff
  • I wish more people would upvote and comment sensibly
  • I wish people shared my posts on social media
  • I wish people asked me to write stuff for them
  • I wish everyone on Steemit knew my name
  • I wish people listened to what I had to say
  • I wish people respected my opinion on X

because if they come true, they can turn into:

  • Why do people hold me responsible when they do things based on what I've written and those things go wrong?
  • Why do people only remember the bits they want to, not my caveats and warnings that things are more complex?
  • Why do people bad mouth me all the time and talk in the comments like I'm not really here?
  • Why do people say things about me here that they'd never say to my face?
  • What are people saying about me that I haven't seen yet?
  • Aaaargh! Are they talking about me?

This isn't just Steem and blogging about crypto, although some of these behaviours are becoming exaggerated now that money is in the mix, it's a long-term observation of behaviours over the last twenty years or so of writing online. And you shouldn't take it as a reason not to write anything, more to think more carefully about what you write, who might be listening and how some people just like to pull others down (sometimes for the best of reasons!)

Sort:  

its very good post,now i think about thist theme more.thank you sir

oh that lloyd guy, he's such a cabbage. He told me not to get successful on steemit, so I followed his advice and now I have no money and no friends. Why can't he write more posts about idling in train stations like he used to? He's my idol. I despise him. I wish he would come to my house and play ukulele for me. Then I could tell him he is a cabbage.

stupid cabbage!

Also don't lie about having no money and no friends. You've got loads of money.

haha. thats a good one lloyd, you totally backslapped me with that one! Id better go out and buy myself some friends to make myself feel better.... ;)

having gotten that out of my system, I would actually love to come to your house and play ukulele (as long as you keep the bedroom door closed)

Be a character, or cease to be. Popularity based popular expectations are not the only force within popularity, but most expectations of popularity are.

Best tongue twister ever!

This is very true sir. We should be careful of what we wish for. I have experienced something of this nature. And immediately, I wished I never wish for such to happen.

I appreciate this post!

Thank you so much for this post. I just started and have been wandering how the reality from starting out blogging to being a seasoned blogger changes. I enjoyed your prospective on this line of thinking @lloyddavis. I hope you are having a wonderful day. Cheers.

Really good point. Especially in crypto right now. Everyone loves you until they lose money lol. It's great to broadcast thoughts and feelings but being held responsible for your own opinion can be daunting.

Interesting read! I'm just starting a little experiment with the help of different communities, in an attempt to show how easy (or difficult) it will be, in order to become popular or famous with the help (shoutouts/mentions and support) from Famous Youtubers/Facebook Icons & Z-Listers, I've been in talks with a few 'famous' people, such as (Babestation models/ex-Big Brother contestants) and slowly will work my way up to a few more famous people I've got contact with.

Feel free to follow and support, every single one of you makes a difference! :) Will be interesting to see how quickly something can expand with the help of mentions/shares and continued support/likes and comments.

Rewards will be given to ALL supporters via a system I intend to create in the future which will mean all supporters will be rewarded as opposed to a select few "giveaways" or "competitions" as most 'famous' people or channels do.

this looks like fun. I see you're just starting out, but I think having some sort of avatar beyond the default would help :) I'm interested to see how it works out for you.

hey @lloyddavis thanks for sharing your heart out here.
its very true what you have pointed out, one just needs to be careful and mindful of the posts he/she publishes and not bother later. I think that's one thing which is making me like steemit every passing day..its ethical boundaries and stress on genuine content.
your posts seem really interesting, i follow you now. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60308.44
ETH 2640.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54