Heading May Be Riskier For Women Soccer Players Than Men

in #soccer6 years ago

The study authors found that female amateur soccer players who frequently head balls showed more white matter brain alterations than their male counterparts. The study included 49 women and 49 men, ages 18 to 50, and examined MRI imaging of players' brains. Each female player was compared to a male player of a similar age and with other similar characteristics including frequency of heading exposure.

Timely article, since I started watching soccer during this years World Cup, I've always wondered about damage to the brain caused by headers. I'd be very careful with kids especially, but I wouldn't take the chance with my own head. Be careful out there....

Read the full story here...
https://www.npr.org/sections/health-shots/2018/07/31/634263471/heading-may-be-riskier-for-women-soccer-players-than-men

Sort:  

I used to play soccer in high school and the fact that it is a contact sport scared the crap out of me. And I quit after that. Dangerous sport, even for men. I'm sticking with gymnastics.

I'm sticking with computers and tv, lol

thanks for this post, i’m a football player.
this text is very useful.upvote

You're very welcome. Be careful out there. :)

thanks my dear friend.wink

You're very welcome :)

Soccer can be risky for anyone. It's the sport that causes most of the lower body injuries.

I guess that's why I don't play.... no, it's probably because I'm old and out of shape. :( lol

HAHA if someone asks to you, tell them that you don't play to prevent injuries HAHA

This post has received a 2.71 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @onthehook8.

You got a 35.75% upvote from @oceanwhale With 35+ Bonus Upvotes courtesy of @onthehook8! Delegate us Steem Power & get 100%daily rewards Payout! 20 SP, 50, 75, 100, 150, 200, 300, 500,1000 or Fill in any amount of SP Earn 1.25 SBD Per 1000 SP | Discord server

You got a 2.97% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @onthehook8!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

You got a 17.57% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @onthehook8!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63813.23
ETH 3435.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44