Smedley The Chummy: Passing of the torch. A 1930 Austin 7 restoration

in #socalsteemit6 years ago


Tragedy strikes us all daily. Today I will share a personal tragedy that was like a slow rolling wave over the last 8 weeks. My father passed on Saturday morning, June 2, 2018, after complications from a broken hip. He was working on the Austin, when he fell, and that stopped all forward progress on his last project.

Gene was 90 years old, never lived in an assisted living facility, and injured himself doing what he loved. Being a World War II veteran, He will be interred at Miramar National Cemetery in San Diego, California.

I am taking on the task of finishing this car at least to the driving level, to carry his mortal remains to the ceremony in 6 weeks time. The car is mostly together but I will have to finish the wiring, install the cowling, interior, dashboard windshield, and the top. It's a tall order and I am enlisting his friends, and mine, in getting this together to honor dad's fine workmanship.

But this week, I am heavy hearted and a bit morose, and have been actively seeking human companionship, as I contemplate the next chapter in my life, with no live parents.


You can check out Part 1 right here, and Part Two, here.

All imagery by @dawg-boy

If you enjoy my original content, please upvote, resteem, and follow me @dawg-boy

#socalsteemit is building and supporting the Steem platform community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

Sort:  

Sorry for your loss mate that must be hard times. I love that you will get that beautiful Austin ready to take your Dad on his final journey. I think he would love that :)

Thanks. Always a tough one. Already started and am inventorying parts and cleaning out the unneeded stuff in the workspace. Looking for volunteers, even if just for moral support.

All i can do being sofar away is give you some moral support. Cheers mate i hope you can get it done in time :)

such an awesome tribute to your dad! i cant wait to see it up and running :D human companionship over here in fallbrook or maybe you can teach me how to help you with your latest project?

Grab your man and come visit me saturday

This post was chosen to be featured in this weeks SoCal Spotlight!! Thank you so much for being part of the #socalsteemit community.

SCSreplybanner.jpg

Yeah! While doing what he loved! manly hugs you Do what you love, have fun with that new ride.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63149.00
ETH 3156.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85