Opportunity Knocks

in #soapmaking4 years ago

I spent the morning teaching a friend how to make soap, and I thoroughly enjoyed it.👩‍🏫😍 This surprised me because I have been asked to teach in the past and I've always said, "No," but now I realize I am GUILTY of closing the door to a life-changing opportunity.🚪

The business side of soapmaking (packaging, pricing, marketing, etc) is not as exciting to me, and today's experience sincerely revived my spirit. I've always viewed soapmaking as a stress-reliever and mind-clearer (I made soap while in labor with my youngest if that paints a clear enough picture!👩‍🎨🖼), and being able to share my passion is the cherry on top.

So, if any of you out there want to be my soapmaking-teaching guinea-pig, let's chat! Preferably in the Northern Virginia area so we can connect in-person. Have a great day, future soapmaking badass!🙋‍♀️

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Congratulations @brutledge! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 19000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Downvote challenge - Add up to 3 funny badges to your board
Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

I have made it just once before so I had something to trade with whilst living with no money in south spain. I found an old book in an abandoned wagon and had liters of olive oil to use and so that was the main ingrediant, I had no thermometer and a dodgy gas stove but it came out great!

Only thing was I didnt read the part of leaving the soap for 2weeks so that its safe to use, and I tested it when it was fresh and burnt the skin haha

Random that your post was on my feed but its an original one, soap making is a rebelious thing to do, like growing your own food and making your own wine ect! Soap Anarchy!

edit add on.. Your not using esteem?!

Soap anarchy! I like that! Would be a good brand name maybe.🤔 I am still deciding on a name. But yes, you are correct actually, this soap is completely made with olive oil. I was so excited to have my friend over I forgot to add the beeswax. So, to say the least, what a tremendous learning experience this has turned out to be. Do you still make your own soap? I started for fun to satisfy a family member, and now it has become a passion. So wonderful the way life works out.

Posted using Partiko Android

I only made it once, and used cocofat with the oil.. how was it with just oil?!

Well, funny you ask, because I totally forgot to add the wee bit of beeswax necessary to harden it up😅 It looks like fudge, and feels soft and smooth like peanut butter, NOT what I was going for. If it doesn't harden soon, maybe I can melt it down again and add the beeswax, like a hot process soap. But, yes, soap can be made with olive oil (and lye) alone, eith the correct proportions. Soapcalc.net is a great free tool.

Posted using Partiko Android

Interesting! Ill make soap when im down south to sell or trade

I LOVE this! I have always wanted to make soap. We get our raw goat's milk from a herd share, and the farmer turns some of the milk into goat's milk soap - it is so wonderfully smooth and nourishing. I swear I can feel my skin soaking it up. Keep up the Soap Anarchy - (love that @movingman) 🌱

Ooh yes!! I absolutely love goat's milk soap and body cream. It is easy to make soap, and you might even discover you love doing it once you give it a try, just like I did.😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Go for it girl. Exciting!

Thank you for the words of encouragement! I truly appreciate you taking time out to respond. Have a great weekend, my friend.😊🙏💚

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70