PROCRASTINARE - Forward motion belonging to tomorrow

in #snooksfault6 years ago (edited)

In life, we have to delay things. Inevitably, we will delay things!

Our lives can be very busy. You have a million things coming at you at the same time, all of which can't all be done...so you delay those smaller (or bigger) more insignificant things.

Then the guilt sets in and we beat ourselves up because we added yet another task to the delay list.

"All procrastination is delay but not all delay is procrastination." ~ Prof. Tim Pychyl

If you step back for a moment and ask yourself, "Can I really do this one thing?" and your answer is, "I really can't!", then that is not procrastination. That is having too much on your plate and not enough time to take care of it.

The word itself, somehow serves up a cringe worthy response - an emotional sigh with downward gaze with furrowed brow....

Yet, interestingly enough, if you break the word down into its Latin verb: PROCRASTINARE

You get:

PRO - Forward motion

CRASTINUS - Belonging to tomorrow

It almost sounds poetic, doesn't it?!

Forward motion belonging to tomorrow...destination unknown.

Why do people procrastinate?

  • Perfectionism
  • Feeling Inadequate
  • Aversion to Discomfort
  • Resentment
  • Being Overextended
  • Lifestyle Issues
  • Fear of Success/Failure
  • Negative Emotion

Source

Procrastination should be an art-form in and of itself. After all, it takes some finesse and extra brain power to not only keep up with yesterday's procrastination(s) but also carry it over into tomorrow. That stuff adds up!

Is the cringe returning yet?

"Never put off till tomorrow what you can do the day after tomorrow just as well." ~Mark Twain

[Wait...Did Mark Twain actually say that?!]

Yes, he did!

Source from twainquotes.com

The point is, everyone is guilty of some procrastination. Some, more than others...perhaps...maybe....

OKAY YES! I'm guilty of procrastination! I'm owning it. Does it feel better coming to this realization? Umm, no.

So let's get down to the real zinger of procrastination. The flip side of the humorous. Let's get serious about what procrastination does to your life and well-being.

"Procrastination is the thief of time." ~ Edward Young

That's right. There is nothing worse than procrastinating your life away - or even worse, moments with a loved one.

I don't have many of these types of procrastinations, but I do have one really sad one.

A couple of years ago, I had re-united with my father's sister, Aunt Carol. My father died in 1987. So, you can imagine the span of years between. My mother had divorced my father when I was two, so I didn't have communication with his side of the family.

We shared a few phone calls between us, lasting no more than 5 or 10 minutes, as the content behind our words was filled with so much sadness and uncertainty for which we were both delaying speaking about.

The formalities of 'perfect timing'.

A day before my family and I were to leave for our week long beach vacation, I called my Aunt out of the blue. I can't really say why other than she popped into my head and I didn't procrastinate (however I held a great deal of anxiety about doing so) - I just did it and hoped it wouldn't be too awkward for either of us.

It turned out to be our longest, most honest, transparent and most emotional phone call of all.

We both lost the capacity to speak in the course of our conversation and were crying so hard that we vowed to talk more deeply our next phone call once we both absorbed this one.

This phone call and what we talked about permeated my heart for a week after we returned. I didn't want to call in the state I was in so I kept putting off that phone call day after day until two weeks had passed and then I received a phone call that my Aunt suddenly died.

So my fathers story died with my Aunt as well as an opportunity to connect with my Aunt on a deeper level. All because I procrastinated calling her.

This is not an uncommon scenario. The majority of grieving people after a loved one dies, have similar regrets.

Never procrastinate on those golden moments - those really important ones.

It's not worth being left with "I wish I had________"

Sort:  

This is so perfect! I have been dealing with procrastination recently with a huge project that caused so much frustration. I was feeling angry at myself, but I got through it .

You can see my reaction to the effects of my procrastination HERE.

Wish I would have known this sooner.
Ren

Hello @youhavewings, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

procrastination.... oh how i hate it. lol

I can't ever justify it, and yet... I often find myself such a slave to it. and when I finally tackle the issue.... i feel SO much better, and wonder why, yet again... have I put something off?

Usually it's just simple

I don't want to do it! lol

My brain needs rest, and I give it rest... and then... I give it more, and more, and more hehehe

Thankfully - I'm too much of an Energizer bunny to let the Procrastination Monster get to me for too long hehehe

I'm sorry that you missed that opportunity with your aunt, but so thankful that you had the conversation you were meant to have when you had it. And.... that you were able to share this with us - and encourage us all to not wait too long.

Great post @youhavewings :)

LOL @penderis shared that vid of the procrastination monster - excellent information and so humorous.

Hahahhahahaa I forgot about that video!!!! It was SOOOOO funny!!! And so true!!! Lolol

I can't relate to the passing but I can relate to not speaking until too late, and in fact, this might have lead to time taking them away regardless of what we call it. I have never looked at it in this way. Thank you.

Your welcome

and thank you

Haha, I did not expect this...

Procrastination is the way we deceive ourselves to want things that are not in tune with our actions. We must or change what we want, if we can, or change our actions.

Again, a very good post.

I didn't expect that either, I think he was actually playing with words (from what I could find out) ....but it served a purpose in my post. :)

Procrastination is the way we deceive ourselves to want things that are not in tune with our actions. We must or change what we want, if we can, or change our actions.

Wow, what a provocative thought, @vieira! I like it a lot. I'm going to have to ponder on this for a while. Thank you

To be honest, I had no idea before this word exists in English language. When I first read it, it felt like a medical expression.

So good you enlighted me <3 Thanks a lot for this wonderful article @youhavewings!!!

Have a most wonderful Sunday <3
xoxo

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by youhavewings from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This is lovely. Thank you for writing it. Glad Ren dropped it in PYPT so I could see it!

This post is an adorable presentation of authour's content! A masterpiece. In love reading you, @youhavewings <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74