On effort and quality - Thoughts on @sndbox :: Sndbox Summer Camp Writing :: Task 3

in #sndboxsummercamp6 years ago (edited)

on effort and quality.jpg

Photo Credit: hedera.baltica Flickr via Compfight cc

Why did I do so many tasks for something I don't even know much about?

These past couple of days I've asked myself several times... what are you doing? Spending time on writing specific posts in order to follow the very detailed rules in order to perhaps be able to join a group called @sndbox. It seems insane.

I did task 1: My journey into the world of writing, where I talk about how writing has pretty much always been a thing, culminating in the recent publication of my first philosophy book (in Dutch) and how I'm only just entering the world of writing fiction (in English).

And I also did task 2: Original Short Story 'The System', which was something I put a lot of hours in. It's always a strange feeling to then 'drop' it on steem, wondering if I should try to publish it somewhere else, or be honest and acknowledging that I'm still developing my skills and building a following on Steem might be the best thing for me now.

Always these questions...

Quality on Steem

Why?? Source: Pixabay

But actually I do know why I've done all these tasks. It's because there is something that is frustrating a lot of people that are on Steem... namely the spammers, scammers, the fakers. And even those who participate and curate things that are definitely below the quality standard I set. Not that I want people to stop posting whatever they want, that's one of the beautiful things about the blockchain, everyone is free to write whatever, and it will stay there for whatever time. To be witnessed by all.

Although I like the initiatives that try to fight against baseless flagging, against plagiarism, I also know that it drains energy to focus on that side of the bargain. The solution is to join attempts to focus on raising the standards, on setting a high bar, on daring to ask for quality. So far I've only found one place on Steem that comes close to that standard. And @sndbox might also be one such community.

So yes, although personally I was frustrated by those 'tasks', I also love the fact that @sndbox is setting people up to perform and to show their skills, before they are allowed to enter. I saw the #philosophy round and didn't feel like joining as a philosopher, as that is my profession. But now there was a round in whcih they invneted creative writers, and that's where my heart lies, and what I want to develop myself in. So yeah, I'm diving in, all the way.

Problem was that I wasn't sure yet if it is all worth it. Yes, I read some of the things @sndbox puts out, but mostly it's also a closed community. Which is good. Yet also difficult to evaluate as a perhaps new candidate member. Fortunately I knew was able to ask a present member some questions, and he took away some of my doubts, thanks for that.

Why @sndbox?

On their website they don't have a lot of information, but what I read was really something I believe in a lot.

Our community is a global and diverse network of artists, writers, designers, musicians and neighborhood leaders.

I like this mix of people. I like the fact they are called neighboorhood-leaders and I like that is is global -- I'm not American and I'll never be, and many such projects tend to be US-based, which is a sad thing for everyone.

Sndbox helps members earn cryptocurrency to empower innovative projects and creative ideas.

I love the word 'empower'. It shows cooperative strategies are valued over autoritative (top-down) ones. I like a focus on both ideas and projects. One without the other will never work.

we reward the process.JPG
But most of all I like this... to focus on process instead of result. That, to me, is the only fundamental 'rule' for community building.

So yeah... I hope I'll be able to get an invitation to @sndbox. Even if they make me do some more serious challenges.
Even though I'll probably be in an internet-scarce part of the world for some time and probably also when they open up the final challenge, I hope I can have some clemency in that case...

@nobyeni.png

Here an overview of more fiction/short stories and poetry by @nobyeni.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58251.90
ETH 3138.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24