Why is teaching the hardest job ever?

in #sndbox6 years ago (edited)

o-TEACHER-COLLABORATION-facebook.jpg

1


Teachers

Teaching is one of the hardest jobs in the world. As I am also an English teacher, I am the one who experiences all the difficulties of it. Even though it gives you pleasure to teach something and transfer your knowledge people, it really takes a lot of things away from you. First of all, people must understand that we are also human beings. Thus, there are some moment when teachers are unhappy and dismotivated, but we should do our best not to reflect this to our teachers

Teaching is really hard and there are many reasons for it, including the ones happening inside and outside the classroom. If I need to mention about the ones happening inside the class, it is really hard to communicate with people from different age groups and backgrounds. They may all have some different problems. When I look at my teenage students, I can see them completely busy with their homework from school and I can't motivate them to study English that I teach


classroom.jpg

2


Responsibilities

When you work in a private school, you have to make sure that your all students are happy with their presence in the school as they basically pay money. This is another problem that puts the teachers under pressure. As I said, many of my teenage students have a lot of homework and it is hard to keep them motivated in my lessons. The same problem occurs with my adult students who are working in some places. As they are working really hard, they can't be effective in the class and feel down.

When they come with high expectations and can't make them happen because of the reasons that I listed above, they feel down and once again we are the ones who have to motivate them with our speeches and actions. Basically, If you want to be a good teacher in a private school, you have to do more than teaching. What you are doing in a private school is more than teaching, you can't just write the rules on the board and leave the class. You have to be with them all the time.


ta-default.jpg

3


Preparation

When we talk about teaching specifically, that requires more effort from you. As teaching a language needs more than explaining rules, you have to show lots of diversity in the class to help your students have a good process in learning. English teachers have to improve themselves every day, trying new techniques to create better ways to teach the language more effectively. It really is a hard thing to achieve especially ıf your students are not so much involved.

In related to this, teachers also must do a lot of preparations before the class. As we need to prove some activities to our students in the classroom, we must be well prepared for everything. If you think of one lesson's duration as 45 minutes, you have to get yourself prepared for at least 30 minutes before the lesson. We sometimes need to have 2 or 3 classes following each other without any breaks, in that case it becomes much more tiring!


20160416_BRC101.png

4


Teachers' life

There are also many problems outside the classroom. Like all other normal people, we have another life outside the classroom. When we look at many countries in our world, it is pretty normal to see teachers working for too many hours and getting almost nothing in return of their hard work. It really affects teachers' life and leave them desperate while coping with their life duties outside the classroom.

When teachers are not happy with their lives, it deeply affects the education system in the country and of course learners. Motivation is the key word to have a better education system in a country. When teachers are not motivated with their salaries and working hours, they can't feel motivated to teach something to their students. They feel like If they don't get appreciated, why should they put a lot of effort in teaching? Governments must put a lot of attention on this issue


image.jpg

5


Final note

These are the problems I personally have every day. Many teachers on steemit and in all countries are facing with these problems every day, so I hope things will get better for educators in the future. Thank you for reading and Steem on!


follow_teachblogger.gif

Sort:  

I understand your frustration towards teaching in the article. But the fact is, frustration is available in all the nature of work. Your article makes think of writing an article on how teaching is wonderful. 😛

I know the fact that real teachers are not recognized well. But I see good teachers as rivers. They keep flowing no matter what happens, never expecting anything in return.

amazing post.
i appreciate steemit education,,thanks for sharing your blog..best of luck

When teachers are not happy with their lives, it deeply affects the education system in the country and of course learners.

I've personally experienced this. In Nigeria as in many countries in the world, teachers are seriously underpaid. And that isn't going to change anytime soon. Until teachers are appreciated for their efforts, it will remain a lowly but virtuous profession.

that is a big problem for teachers!

Im a teacher too, i teach computer studies and i can totally relate to all what you have said, moreover there's a lot that goes on in the students home that is totally different from what we see in school, especially my part of West Africa where children hawk immediately after school with no chance of going back to read or revise what they have been thought, it gets more difficult for these students to relate with their peers during class activities and its a issue i face everyday. I hope parents will take proper steps in considering their wards or childrens education as topmost priority and educators can have better time while teaching

I am facing with the same problem here. After the lesson, they never revise or do any exercise, so it is hard to achieve something with them.

Well, we just have to keep trying...thanks for sharing this, now i know im not alone. Have you heard about steemitschool by @dobartim?

We all are on the same path. I haven't heard it before, I will check!

Here's the link, do check it out and come join us on discord. Will be looking out for you.
Cheers friend

thank you for the support! I will support you back of course!

Thank you for this - I am a teacher and I know exactly what you are talking about. What saddens me sometimes is that some parents do not realize the extent of our jobs and that we also need a break and would like to spend time with our own families now and then when we are not busy with their kids - and that some thing like manners are still the responsibility of the parents.... we are not babysitters, we are teachers. Resteeming

Thank you for the support, well it is true that we also have to deal with parents as well as students!

Teaching is sooo hard. I've taught in a classroom setting a couple times and I just couldn't do it. I had so much anxiety, particularly when I was teaching undergrads, about making an idiot of myself or saying the wrong thing. It was bad for my mental health. I taught 6th grade for a bit and kids are just rough at that age. It was hard for me to keep in mind that they were just children because I developed resentments against the ones who antagonized me. These days I tutor, and I love it. That one on one attention without having to do any classroom management is ideal for me. It's not pedagogy that I hate; it's all of the baggage that comes with it. At least one on one I can communicate my passion for learning and make kids feel supported and encouraged. I have so much respect for the teachers that get up and teach in front of a classroom every day. I don't know how you keep your sanity.

It really requires lot of patience and experience. I am able to teach in a classroom where there are usually 10 students, but it has taken some time to get used to this kind of teaching, I would also prefer to have private classes, one to one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67584.80
ETH 3438.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70