Gilingang Bato Ikatlong Yugto - A Filipino Short Story

in #sndbox7 years ago

MahalnaBirhenngAntipolo-Malolos.jpg

Isa lamang ito sa napakaraming lumang larawang kasama ng mga liham sa baul. Kuha ito nuong taong 1950, dalawang taon matapos ikasal sina Lolo at Lola. Ang libo-libong tao sa larawan ay nagaabang sa Mahal na Birhen ng Antipolo sa pagitan ng bulwagan ng bayan ng Malolos, at basilika ng Malolos.

Ikatlong Bahagi - Veronica at Agustin

Ito na ang pinakalumang larawang nahanap ko sa baul na nagpapakita ng mataas na paaralan ng Marcelo H. Del Pilar sa Malolos. Larawan ito ng mga guro nuong 1966, kasalukuyan nuong nasa mataas na paaralan ang aking ina.

Abril ng taong 1945 nang nakapagtapos sa Mataas na Paaralan ng Bulacan si Lola Veronica. Ngayo'y tinatawag na itong Mataas na Paaralan ng Marcelo H. Del Pilar. Nakapagtapos siya dalawang buwan bago sinakop ng mga Hapones ang parte ng paaralan na nasa Casa Real ng Malolos. Ang lugar ay ginamit upang gawing oposina ng Kagawaran ng Kalakalan sa, ilalim ng pamamahala ng Imperyo ng Bansang Hapon.

Kasulukuyan naman nuong tinatapos ni Lolo Agustin ang kursong Agrikultura sa Pamantasang Pangagrikultura ng Gitnang Luzon.

Pagkatapos sa Pamantasan, si Lolo Agustin ay magtuturo sa Mataas na Paaralan ng Lalawigang Bulubundikin, hangang sa bago sila nagpakasal ni Lola taong 1948.

Agustin Bernardo
Mountain Province High School, Baguio, Philippines
November 13, 1947

My Dearest A,

I cannot wait to see you again at Christmas break, and finally get a chance to catch up. I sure hope you are keeping healthy, well, and true to your love. Your mother and father came to talk to my mother today. I woke up earlier than usual to make rice cakes like mother instructed me to do. It seems like she was expecting them. I am not sure what they spoke about, and am hoping you will kindly tell me in your response, have you any idea? It was all pleasant. I did not imagine they would get along well specially that their first encounters after learning about us iwasn't exactly nice.

I think about you all the time, and will not forget to greet you on your birthday. In the three consecutive birthdays you celebrated after we met in 1945, you are always away from me and your family. Your birthday next year falls on a Saturday, and you will not have an excuse to not come home on your special day.

A, I am hoping you would consider your father's offer for you to come home and manage the farm. I find it difficult being away from you. I also saw in the morning paper today a feature article talking about a posibility of a Third World War. Charles de Gaulle is calling for making an alliance between France, Britain, and the US to fight communism and reconstruct Europe. We both know that ideologies like this can lead to war. It is a good thing that Carlos Romulo signed the Japanese Peace Treaty in September at the bidding of president Roxas. Still, it doesn't matter much who we go to war against if it gets to that, I just really miss being with you.

Happy Birthday my dear A. I will look forward to your response, more than that the Christmas break when I can finally see you again. I can still remember how we first met at the plaza next to the cathedral in May 1945. I did not think that someone of you stature would fancy somebody like me. You startled me when you approached, my guess is that it's the anticipation that gave me away. I know who you are, I have seen you during our younger years at the farm, but it was different seeing in person again after many years. I remember you to be the brat, rich, mestizo looking boy from back then. I love how you turned out to be alright, I must say I was quite surprised too.

This is becoming a really long letter, and I am aware that you are quite busy. Still, I will be pleased to read a response from you soon. Happy Birthday again my dear.

Love,

Your V

Veronica Agtarap
Dakila, Malolos, Bulacan, Philippines

Marami sa mga liham ay isinulat sa wikang Ingles. May isang baul ang puno ng mga liham katulad nito na iningatang mabuti upang manatiling mababasa. Matapos na pumanaw ang kanilang ama't ina, si Tiya Maring na ang nangalaga sa kanilang mga ari-arian, kasama ng mga yaon ang baul ng mga liham.

Sa tugon ni Lolo Gusting idenitalye niya kung ano ang pinagusapan ng kanilang mga magulang, kung paanong pinaplano na niyang talaga na manatili sa kanilang bayan matapos ang taong iyon, bakit niya iniisip na di na hahayaan ng mundo na maganap ang ikatlong digmaang pandaigdig, at kung paanong hindi na siya makapaghintay na magpakasal kay. Lola Veronica

Itutuloy...

Credits:

Birhen ng Antipolo sa Malolos
Marcelo H. Del Pilar High School Faculty Picture
Old Letters
Old Casa Real Photo

follow_steemitph.gif

STEEMITPH.png

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by steemitph from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 60693.83
ETH 2647.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48