State of the Sndbox Competition Entry // The Box [2nd attempt]

in #sndbox7 years ago

The Box

ボックス


Snd thumbnail 2.png


ℍ𝕖𝕪𝕠𝕠

Sorry for the late night post. I've been trying to figure out how the new thumbnail should look for the contest. I was initially making another thumbnail, but for some reason it didn't look right to me. So I had to restart all over again. You know, as an artist, I'm not afraid to start over, because it's almost therapeutic to do something over again. So I have no problems with that, or maybe I'm just crazy. I guess I'll just get into the process then

(・ε・)


ᑭᖇᗢᑕᙓᔕᔕ


3d logo.png


I know

I know, it's lazy to reuse assets, but I really dig how I made the Sndbox logo in illustrator. It was really simple making the individual shapes of the logo and merging it all together. Oh by the way, the logo was from my previous entry. If you want to see that, you can click here. Anyway, after I merged the shapes together, I just went to the effects panel and applied the 3d. Then I just moved the logo into Photoshop. The 3d text was the same process as well.


Process.png


Photoshop

In Photoshop, I pretty much just did perspective walls leading to the background, applied different shapes to the background, and added a abstract sphere around the logo. I also added in a gradient effect to the text, and that's pretty much it for the thumbnail.


SNDBOX Contest 2.png


Inspiration

Well, coming up with the idea for this thumbnail was actually kind of challenging. I had already made a previous thumbnail that I wanted to use, but I didn't like how it was turning out. I also thought that it wasn't going to look appealing to @sndbox. So I just started over and really thought to myself on what would look good for the image I was going to make. Then it just hit me like that. A box, a simple box, it reminded me of when I was a kid. I use to have this red checkered toy box with every toy that you could imagine. It was left behind due to my mother carelessly leaving it behind when we moved. It's weird how those sad memories can inspire me to make something good...


ugochukwu - windows 95

I really like it when a producer samples
a windows 95 sound into a killer chill beat

ᗯᖺᗩ☂ ᓰᔕ ♈ᖺᙓ ᓰﬡ☂ᙓᖇﬡᙓ☂?


I hope you like it Sndbox.


Have a good one guys, and until next time, peace, and thank you.



Did they really show this on cartoon network? lmao!!!

Programs used:
Photoshop CS6
Illustrator CS6


Sort:  

I find that if something doesn't feel right, the best thing is to start over, or else you will just waste time on something that will never quite feel right. Great post~ ><

Yeah, I'll probably post the previous thumbnail I made soon. It looks cool, but it's something that the sndbox may not like @tsukuyomi.

Sooper friend.

Nice post.I respect you very much because you contribute to steemit.I will do activities like you.I would like to extend the steemit.@raizel

Hy! I am a bot and I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for great post! I follow you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61475.37
ETH 2485.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61