Don't you forget about me - He - Short Story Serie - Part II

in #sndbox6 years ago (edited)

He had chosen the Internet as his method of escape to reality, his whole life seemed to have been taken from a soap opera at 2 o'clock in the afternoon and he struggled daily with his parents because both of them, being addicted to alcohol, were filled with resentment for everything. what "life" had taken from them. His older brother -heroin addict- was gone for weeks and only said "out of my sight" whenever they saw each other; and he, as if living in a parallel world, struggled to graduate from university, a career that was costly, due to the number of materials that he was asked for, such as architecture.

His childhood had not been easy, in fact, it could be said that he had to leave his toys aside like the soccer ball they gave him on his birthday, it was only used twice due to the constant scenarios of fights and discord at home. In the afternoons, the guy who least provoked him was going out to have fun.

The weekends were the most screaming days, in the afternoon it was for their soccer games on television and at night to claim their parents the bad condition they were in, he could assure you that he took more than 100 times to the bathroom his mother so he could bath her when she vomited. Already exhausted from the whole process, he got down on his knees, put his hands together and asked God to change things, the years passed, the prayers were extinguished, the faith was lost and the situation worsened.

After so many years he swore never to be like them, he did not want to become what he hated and even though many times his father said that they were cut with the same scissors he fought against his demons to not be like them. He was no longer the 13-year-old boy, he was already a 22-year-old man, wanting to live and leave the vicious circle where he fell again and again, that's where he found that page where lyrics were shared, where he distanced his reality and what he turned into fantasy, where he could write and let off steam, be heard and be congratulated, in a few words he found the tranquilizer for his constant pains.

─ It is at this point where she enters ─ He said with melancholy while drinking the cup of coffee, his hair was disheveled, the bags under his eyes were the living sample of his sleeplessness. He was in his pajamas sitting on the sofa in the living room of the studio that he had acquired six months ago from his arrival abroad, telling his friend why he could not fall in love, why he had not accepted that double date that his co-worker planed, saying that both girls would have to be daughters of Aphrodite for their beauty. ─ I met her on that page and from the moment I shared a couple of words, my world changed. I came to love her so much that every day that I spent the most I was terrified to think that she would have to deal with all my demons.─ He frowned, suddenly feeling the rather bitter coffee at his question.─ What if the fault we ended up was mine? ─ He smiled a sideways smile, rather like a grimace full of pain and suffering ─ I have the fault because, in my opinion, I became my demons ─


Sources: 1 ;2;3


Previusly : She - IHe - I

Sort:  

Truly wonderful story. I relate much on the first paragraph. Though there was no heroin or drugs that incorporated our family, my family is always in chaos and always end up my mom get beaten.

I was placed in an unhealthy environment and computer games were my remedy. I spent so much time playing. I used to do a lot of stuff just to get money just enough for me to go to internet cafes.

It is in the world of games where I found new friends, new family, and a new life where I felt my worth. I'm glad I did not get addicted, but it paved a way to realize my worth. That I have my life to enjoy and that the environment I was placed was a learning experience to never be the same like them.

Wow that is a shocking story indeed. I am glad that you and the reader overall could feel related, because this is a story with many things.

In my personal case never was drugs or something worse, but wasn't a very happy childhood because of fights and even that I have brothers I always felt alone.

On Internet was where I found a scape and a home.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71297.37
ETH 3698.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75