I can´t stay in one place... Went to a magic town called Cholula: Churches, Street art and some surprises

in #sndbox6 years ago (edited)

I am a nomad, whenever I stay in one place for more than a few days I get the urge to start moving again. I came to Puebla in my home country, México, to spend a few days with my family during the holidays, but now the Holidays are over and until my next big trip, I´m going to visit the towns and villages nearby and try to take you there with me.

Cholula is arguably one of the top destinations in México for university exchange students and international tourism. Not just because the comfort of having a top level uni very close but also because the small ancient town vibe is in the air, including some nightlife on every corner at night, and a lot of markets and local rituals happening in the street at midday.

Puebla is the state with more churches in México just behind Mexico city and Morelia... but Cholula is one of the top towns with more churches per person, it has 365 churches for only a bit more than 100,000 people.

No me puedo quedar en un solo lugar... Fui a un pueblo mágico llamado Cholula: Iglesias, arte urbano y algunas sorpresas más.

Soy un nómada, siempre que me quedo en un lugar por más de algunos días, me comienza a entrar la prisa de moverme de lugar. Vine a Puebla, en mi natal México, a pasar algunos días con mis seres queridos, pero ahora que las fiestas se han terminado y hasta que comience mi próximo gran viaje voy a estar visitando los pueblos cercanos e intentaré llevarlos conmigo a conocerlos.

Cholula es sin duda uno de los mejores destinos en México para estudiantes internacionales de intercambio y turismo extranjero. No solo por la comodidad de tener una de las mejores universidades de México al alcance de la mano, también porque tiene esa vibra de pequeño y antiguo pueblito en el aire, incluyendo un poco de vida nocturna en cada esquina así como varios mercados y rituales tradicionales durante el día en varias calles principales.

Puebla es el estado de la República Mexicana con más iglesias solo detrás de la ciudad de México y Morelia... pero Cholula es uno de los pueblos con más iglesias por número de habitantes, tiene 365 iglesias para un poco más de 100,000 habitantes.

20180105_144909.jpg

20180105_142814.jpg

20180105_142222.jpg

20180105_141957.jpg

20180105_143316.jpg

20180105_144036.jpg

20180105_162325.jpg

20180105_164048.jpg

20180105_165326.jpg

20180105_181521.jpg

While walkind on the streets, I found a small plaza where this guys where doing a small ritual/traditional dance with live music. I didn´t take more than a few seconds to not bother these people. They are indigenous people trying to make a living out of their traditions and it is disrespectufl - in my opinion - to record their rituals. Altought I gave them a small tip - which is how they make a living - I didn´t want to push it.

Mientras caminaba por las calles, encontré una pequeña plaza con estos personajes haciendo un ritual con danza y música tradicional regional. No quise tomar más de unos segundos de video para no molestarlos o invadirlos. Ellos son personas indígenas que buscan hacerse de unas monedas a partir de sus tradiciones y es irrespetuoso - al menos desde mi punto de vista - el grabar sus rituales. Aunque les dí algunas monedas - que es como se ganan la vida - no quise estirar la cuerda.

I noticed there was a lot of street art, but believe me, a lot. I had to take some pictures to show you, I am only including the very best of the best. Every street has some street art, some of the graphiti includes signatures and I wrote it down to get in touch with the artists and try to get them into our platform, more of that coming soon when I have some - hopefully good - news.

Al caminar por Ias calles me di cuenta que el arte urbano abunda en esta ciudad, pero créeme, abunda por doquier. Tenía que tomar algunas fotos y mostrarles, aunque solo elegí el mejor no pude elegir menos de diez imágenes. Todas las calles tienen algo de grafiti, algunos de ellos contienen firmas o perfiles de Facebook así que lo anoté para ponerme en contacto con ellos e invitarlos a la plataforma, pero les hablaré de ello en unos días cuando tenga resultados.

20180105_175634.jpg

20180105_175651.jpg

WhatsApp Image 2018-01-05 at 10.36.57 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2018-01-05 at 10.37.17 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2018-01-05 at 10.36.40 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2018-01-05 at 10.37.53 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2018-01-05 at 10.37.44 PM.jpeg

After exploring the streets and finding amazing pieces of art - from artists that would kill it on steemit by the way - I got hungry, and since I´m in my home country, I know exactly what to ask for.

But first, I stumbled upon a local market, I took a picture just for you to get the vibe:

Después de explorar las calles y encontrar mucho arte urbano - por parte de artistas que la romperían en Steemit - me dió hambre y, ya que soy mexicano explorando México - conozco perfectamente que pedir para calmar el hambre.

Pero antes, me encontré con un mercado local, tomé una foto para que sientan la vibra:

WhatsApp Image 2018-01-05 at 10.11.04 PM.jpeg

Now, let´s eat!

Ahora, a comer!

WhatsApp Image 2018-01-05 at 10.10.59 PM.jpeg

Chancla, Cemita and Pelona. Three typical small dishes from the state of Puebla. All of them get you fat but happy. Just like me.

Chancla, Cemita y Pelona. Tres bocadillos típicos del estado de Puebla. Todos ellos te dejan gordo pero feliz. Tal como soy yo.
WhatsApp Image 2018-01-05 at 10.11.09 PM.jpeg

Sort:  

I really enjoyed Your journey to this small town. Very beautiful architecture.Such a large number of churches in a small area. It's amazing! I love architecture, so I am pleased to see such a variety. I wish You this year to visit many interesting places. Thank you, @anomadsoul

Street art. Where I'm living now, the only chance I get to see any is when I'm stopped at a freight train. I used to find so many little gems while wandering around in Edmonton, Alberta. I took a lot of photos, but not with a camera.

That blue woman with the eye looking up is genius.

Que bello lugar! Conocí hace algunos años se mira muy diferente o yo no lo recuerdo bien! Que te sigas divirtiendo y saboreando esos ricos platillos!
Un abrazo!

Wow! In many ways i wish I lived in Mexico! I have been to Mexico before (and I know it is a big place, so not to generalize) and I love it. I love the art and the culture, the food on every corner. The vibrancy and heartbeat. I think this is what is sorely lacking in so many places across the US. Many people want to come to US, but I always think- stay in your own country- it is better there!! Thanks for taking us on a little journey- it is so good there. Ahora comer!

Wow, this is a beautiful experience, I also don't know how to stay in one place for too long, but if you're making such journey you'll need alot of cash, those art works are wonderfully created, those artists needs to be found, their arts are so beautiful, I couldn't take my eyes of them, no to forget, your meal was month watering. Have a lovely time out. Thanks for taking me with you, thanks for the picture.

Wonderful place my friend. The most I like the market, your cute smile and the colorful name of the town. Here in Panama I admire them too. I think all of the towns on the whole world supposed to be so colorful and look so happy and greeting the people from the distance ;))))

Have great time and enjoy your excellent life :)))

Great post. I got a present from a room mate in college of a cup from Cholula. I am so happy to finally get to coat the city and see the churches and the art. Amazing.

I am very curious as to what your doing to do to get artists to come over. We have loads in Dublin too that I wanted to try to get on. An idea I had was to do an interview series on steemit about individuals and their art, raise enough money throughout posts to buy a painting then go back and show the people I had interviewed how I had done it and tell them what steemit was and how it could help them if they were interested.

I have family in cholula and Puebla I'm going to try and visit when I go home in match I'll let you know, the churches are so beautiful and so many! And I love the art! Thanks so much for showing us parts of your home! Big polar bear hug brother!❤️

I have never been to Mexico and I enjoyed your post, I believe it is another good side of Steemit to give the opportunity to learn other places via the people who live there to have so to say first contact with native people. Just reading the tourist guide it is very similar one to another and mostly you see just few famous areas and not really learn the culture. The street art is amazing, one must be born with artist's talent. The churches are astonishing, respect to those who build them up. I also like the market place with decorated pottery, I would definitely buy one as reminder. And of course the food, I can imagine you enjoyed it, I love Mexican cuisine. Thank you for sharing, it seems to be another destination to discover on holiday :)

Ahh such colorful churches you got there, and those beautiful street arts! And yes to bringing those artists to steemit, @anomadsoul! Thanks for sharing!

P.S. You have eyes smile!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66419.93
ETH 3546.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47