#MaineCoon Love, Outdoor cats - DailyPetPhotography submissions | "每天寵物攝影" 圖片 Day 491

in #snapcats5 years ago

Maine Coons are on my mind,


my beloved Merlin in particular,


So I searched Steemit this morning for fellow fans of this breed. The first one to catch my eye is very clever with the side-by-side English and German. Formatting plagues me, so I am in awe of this:



https://steemit.com/photography/@johannpiber/maine-coon-kitten-whisky


I was intrigued by @johannpiber's response to a reader's comment:

I know two persons who don't like cats: One is a hunter and either he would shoot any cat he sees somewhere outdoors or his dog would catch and kill the cat - that's true and I do not like this guy. The other unfortunately has a cat hair allergy and therefore does not like cats, but he's a quite nice guy and do like him (a bit ;).

I have vowed not to speak of the person

who trapped and dumped two of our three cats because they trespassed to hunt mice. We bailed Timmy from the pound, then Bonnie, and I had no grounds to protest, because they were caught on someone else's property. So I was especially captivated by a comment from another Maine Coon lover on Steemit,

"Studies have shown that cats that have the ability to go outside live longer in many cases,"

in @barber78's 'Rajah', the lucky 'Maine Coon'


https://steemit.com/smartphonephotography/@barber78/rajah-the-lucky-maine-coon

What a gorgeous Maine Coon!

What a rajah in the tree!

Do you let YOUR cats go outside, ever?

Our first three, Timmy and Tommy, then Bonny, were all neutered/spayed, vaccinated, and updated monthly with flea, tick, and worm meds, but the person who caught them on her land told me she would shoot the next one to show up killing mice or birds in her horse barn.

"I hate strays,"

she said, and I had no legal grounds for pleading clemency for the cats. They refused to be confined indoors 24/7.

Our little Bobi the Bad (who came long after the first three were exiled) is maddeningly vocal about being let out for Night Patrol for an hour or two before bedtime. Without fail. No matter how cold or wet outside. So far, he has never ventured off our property, that we know of.

This is Bobi on our deck, back when Ted the Red Heeler was alive:

Merlin the Maine Coon

prowled about the backyard sometimes, and once he leaped from my shoulder onto the pergola and from there up to the roof, commanding a very high view. He was in no hurry to find his way down. I can't find a photo now, if I ever got one. But I love how he would leap to the highest cupboards in our kitchen and loom over us:

And I try to love that pipsqueak, Bobi the Bad,

the puny little brat cat who persecuted "His Majesty" (my Merlin!) and caused his exile to a better place (a one-cat home for Merlin).

Maine Coons are the best!!!

Sort:  

Our cats always went outside. At a certain place someone shot at them and kicked them. Many neighbours never saw them.back, others found their cat crippled or half dead.

I cat should go outside. It is a hunter and we still need it. The amount of rats is increasing and getting a plague!

If I had an expensive cat I would not easily let it walk outside.

P.s. I am allergic to cats too.

Allergic to cats - and dogs! - is one allergy I hope I never develop.
Being outside is healthy for humans. Doctors recommend it. How can we deny our pets any time outdoors? Sure, a coyote might eat the cat, and eagles have been known to pick off small dogs from their own backyards, but life is never free of danger. It will be free of fun though if we forever seek to avoid peril and risk. Like the guy guy who asked his doctor "Will I live longer if I give up cigars and whiskey" and Doctor says No, but it'll eem like it!

Your cats, kicked, crippled, half-dead, shot at -- TOO SAD!!!!!
I understand a property owner's vigilance against strays, but beloved family pets with collars and vet visits up to date. That's just wrong. Talk to the cat owners, civilly, but harming the animals, especially the beloved pets, is punishing the creature, not the owner. Shame on those who do that. (For any lurkers who lurk on me, Shame on you.)

I love cats, but I too am allergic. I can't have one at home, but I don't avoid them. I just take allergy meds before I go visit friends with cats. Most of the people I know who have cats let them outside, unless they live in an apartment building without a balcony or an outside access.

That's some pretty cool cats there !!

Two of the coolest cats are not mine. I'm in awe of @barber78's Rajah. Glorious!!
Thanks for reading and commenting. :)

Really are all gorgeous !!

Hi @carolkean,

Thanks so much for partaking in #dailypetphotography! Please follow @dpet for upcoming events.
Our discord channel is up and running, come on over and say hi, lots of avil pet owners are awaiting you there.
https://discord.gg/GYrnsNm

I'm so sorry about your horrible neighbor! She should be sent to the pound! I would think that cats killing mice in the barn was a good thing. My cats are too lazy to do much hunting these days, and the mouse poop in the milk room is now a thing to contend with. I love my lazy cats, though. At my house, we jokingly call them "couch tigers." I'm sure you secretly love Bobi the Bad, although it's too bad Merlin had to move. I know several people who are hopelessly devoted to Maine coons.

Aw, couch tigers - #loveit!
Me, secretly fond of Bobinski, the brat cat, the Bad? What an accusation! What affrontery! Speaking of which... I didn't identify "the person" as a neighbor! (If her daughter/mutual "friend" is lurking again, though, they can rejoice that I have not posted the worst things. E.g., "I've got a bullet with your name on it" when our first collies saw her riding close to the fenceline and they did what any dog would do at the new sight of a horse within smelling distance: they barked!.)
I have been civil and extraordinarily forgiving (trying to channel Viktor Frankl's compassion for bullies, and all that), but every now and then my forbearance is challenged. I snap. My cats, vaccinated, healthy, disease-free, were persecuted and I "moved on" and forgave the person and was friendly and personable but something about the mention of #bluebells and #KillWeeds triggers some kind of hostility. Ok. Moving on!

Yikes! You are a much better person than I am! I have no love for anyone who threatens animals with violence for no good reason. Or patience!

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm a terrible person. Dozens, if not hundreds, of people would testify to the accuracy of that statement. (I kid you not.) But I think of myself as a work in progress. I'm obtuse and thoughtless a lot of the time, but malice never motivates me to say or do or fail to do the things so many people resent me for. Absence of Malice is no excuse. I am a terrible person. And a work in progress!!!

*Forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us,"

is the motto I have to live by. Because I have to seek forgiveness for so many, many blunders and trespasses. Most of the time, I seem to remain unforgiven, so I keep moving on, or I hole up and don't leave the house unless it's absolutely required of me. (Husband drags me to church once a week. Groceries need to be restocked.)

Thank you for reading and commenting. :)

We are all works in progress! I think absence of malice makes a huge difference. I think you're pretty great, so I will issue you a blanket pardon on behalf of those myopic souls who resent you while probably ignoring their own shortcomings. The work we do on ourselves should count for something. As Oscar Wilde said, "We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars."

Posted using Partiko Android

Awww thank you for this, and the Oscar Wilde quote. He has SO MANY great lines!! Just got back from a company picnic (my husband's) and one of the engineers is just the wisest, sweetest, most personable and intelligent men I've ever met. If only all people could be so level-headed, with common sense, and do as he does: if someone disagrees, he reads up on that person's position, considers other perspectives, and respects their beliefs. Sometimes he even decides they were right and he was mistaken. Why is is this simple attitude so rare in our world? You're one of the rare ones. I wish you lived close enough for me to hire you goat herds. Instead it's me digging and pulling, or (I keep forgetting to buy espom salts!) trying that organic weed spray. Vinegar, Dawn dish soap, epsom salts. Better than the butterfly killing Roundup and such. Thank you again for reading and commenting. :)

This post is supported by $0.64 @tipU upvote funded by @barber78 :)
@tipU voting service: get instant upvotes + profit sharing tokens | For investors.

Thank you! and thank you @barber78!

Love the Maine Coon cat. One came to my back door when I lived in the city. I called him Houlton after Houlton, Maine, U.S. He was declawed and neutered.
He came in and never left although he went outside. The pads on his feet were torn as if he walked a long distance. I had him for seven years before he passed...He went down to the basement, let out a shriek and dropped dead.
I still miss him and my cat Red is a lot like him except his fur is reddish.

OMG you totally yanked the rug out from my feet with this shocker:

He went down to the basement, let out a shriek and dropped dead.

What a visual!!!!
What a find - a Maine Coon at your door! (oh, the poor, shrdeed pads, the declawed, homeless, neutered cat), - and he stays for seven years!!!!

He was definitely an unexpected gift. I don’t know how old he was when he first came to my door. Houlton was a beautiful intelligent cat and even declawed he was a hunter.

Awwww!! I wonder where he came from. If his owner died, or moved and left him behind, or if a natural disaster (flood, fire) separated them, or he just got lost... the worn out paw pads... sad story but happy ending (until seen years later). Love that name for Houlton, Maine!

Our cats are indoors and outdoors "with human supervision only." the problem around here is mostly our neighborhood flock of coyotes, as well as eagles that are quite capable of pouncing on a cat; at least a smaller cat.

Happy Caturday!
=^..^=

With supervision -- Bobi is a Ninja. Slinking around, little thing, disappearing from view quickly. But, yes, no freedom for the feline - surveillance from the humans to keep 'em out of trouble, out of harm's way!

Bobi the bad can do no wrong. :-)

Ohhhh man, how much did he pay you to say that? :)

Check is in the mail :-)

LOL!! Good luck cashing it. He cheats at cards and has been known to look innocent but don't believe it! he can't be trusted.

Funny... You mean I shouldn't turn my back on B the B...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59281.33
ETH 2982.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74