You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SMTs Explainer: Centralized vs. Decentralized Cryptocurrency Rewards; Copyright Rev Shares [VIDEO]

in #smt7 years ago

I'm still thinking out some of the issues for my own potential SMT for my social network. One thing I am quite clear about though is that I don't know of a better way to handle the issue of copyright than by using media fingerprinting as Youtube and others do. When I looked into this for another project a few year ago, I found it was necessary to pay for access to fingerprinting databases and technology since the cost of developing a custom solution would be prohibitive vs. paying for a license.

I appreciate that for many, the idea of copyright policing is counter to anarchistic principles - but I don't really see how the network can be protected from litigation without it. I wrote about this in some detail with regards to steem, not so long ago.

Sort:  

Indeed, one will probably in the future need proof of creation to show that you in fact produced this first. I haven't looked into it myself, but open timestamps might be of inspiration/use.

there may be a way to make that work, yes - provided compression and recompression of files does not corrupt the mechanism.. thanks for the link. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63438.65
ETH 2632.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75