Stick with Steem and see if @ned keeps his promise for SMT or follow @dan to EOS

in #smt5 years ago

It's been several months now since I made my peace on whether to keep my investment with Steem or move to EOS and follow Dan.

I've done everything I can to support Steem and quietly the vision of SMT's. I remember I was very surprised when @ned announced an offical SMT release date of end of March 2019....Lets talk about how he went

Above image by Giphy

While heaps of people did their blocks and attacked @ned for coming out with such a long and conservative time frame, I supported his decision and courage in coming forward with a date.... Not that anyone would have heard my small voice under the barrage of whale and witness comments.

Now we are here and just 11 days to go and I'm yet to see it hitting the market or find any real announcement on it. I'm sure there is one somewhere and it's just me - if someone has a good link can you please help me find it? 

I've picked up on little bits here and there and I believe another 'techical' thing called a MIRA is needed first.

This might be true, but if @ned doesn't make a formal statement re-committing to a delivery date for SMT it will not be taken easy as @ned's character came under significant attack as someone who doesn't stick to his word and is not knowing what he is doing.  I even remember making a comment, the only thing that would ever see me consider a powerdown is if @ned didn't keep his promise on a SMT release date.

Many of us loyal Steemian's said we would give him ago to keep his promise, regardless of very little improvements to Steemit, @ned behaviors in selling Steem, dropping prices, lack of connection with the community and many other concerns all of which he has at least attempted to address in recent months :)

To me it all comes down to these 3 important factors.

  1. Having a Strategy is important, @ned was brave enough to share it and announce a release date for SMT
  2. Significant price drops, cutting staff and a heap of other unpredictable things have happened, that nearly no Strategy could survive that without change (changing strategy and timeframe is ok, if it's in the best long term interest of Steem).
  3. Changing your strategy is ok with me @ned, but as long as you announce why and put a new reasonable date on the table.

Interested in other Steemian's thoughts here? What is happening with SMT and what does it mean to you?

Cheers and take care

Sort:  

Don't hold your breath mate. If it was happening then the warm up song and dance would have started by now.

All we can go on is reputation and track record. Neither are good.

For me it's' ok to change strategy.

You decide a destination and set sail, and everyone runs around the ship doing their things to get your there. Some times storms come along and push you of path and you arrive late.

haha but if the governors daughter is waiting for you at the destination, so you want to have a decent excuse...

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Wasn't there talk of pushing it back and or not including the features it was once advertised to have?

I can't remember where I read that. I do know that some projects are doing their own SMT's around May some time. Steemhunt is one, and quite frankly I can't wait for that to come to fruition.

Ned has taken a backseat to public statements and has other people do that work for him now (after the backlash of his YouTube videos which were ridiculous).

It's ok for him to take a backseat, if your not good at 'social media' its ok, and having a PR manager is a good idea or deputy dog...whatever. However, when you publicly make a statement for the number one item your delivering, you don't want to send you PR rep to make a statement. You step up and make the statement yourself...anything less and he is proving what people were saying about him and @dan is the man!

Oh I get that. I am saying what he's done. Of course he should make a public statement about what is going on, but will he?

Only @ned can say.

No worries mate, well fingers crossed - lets see :)

Hang tight for a few days mate. Let’s see what happens.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hanging!! but I'm pretty sure just an excuse is coming...

while I would be disappointed, as long as the excuse is good and a new extension date is on the table (before the due date) then it's in my book.

Yeah I’m not expecting anything. But I live in hope.

I’m cruisy. And don’t see why you couldn’t do both, pretty sure lots of others have 🙃

Posted using Partiko iOS

I don't think I would ever give up on Steem, but whether I invest more or not is in question :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98