Steem Raising Post One - SMT Survival game - 0 of 100 Steem raised

in #smt5 years ago (edited)

Join me as I unlock the secret code of the ancients to determine the lost recipe for SMT success!

Hehe Well...maybe not, but Id definitely like to explore SMT's a bit more, specifically what would a successful game based SMT look like?

Current Approach:

 To do this I'm going to attempt to raise the needed 100 Steem to fund a SMT token by doing a weekly 'Steem raising' post like this one. I'll keep this up for as long as it makes sense (it doesn't cause too much controversy and doesn't appear too spammy) or we reach our 100 Steem target.

As per the previous post here:   

https://steemit.com/smt/@lordnigel/ibt-update-new-multiplayer-island-battle-survival-unlock-smt-s

I'd like to experiment with an SMT driven game. WorldofDASM is an educational game series available for purchase on Steam (a popular platform gamer's use to purchase games) and the lead programmer has agreed to consider a SMT token game - with my trusted help.

I have proposed a Special edition WorldofDASM - survival game where players earn SMT tokens by proving their education level in the area of survival skills.  I have  no idea at this point what this means with the STEAM platform but have the necessary contacts to see if they would welcome/support SMT games. If your a gamer you would know this platform is a big time thing, but if this doesn't work the game could be just downloadable via the WorldofDasm website direct.

To start I'm exploring the Value of a Steem SMT in general(why would a Steemian even want a new token? what would give the token value?). 

One of the ideas I had was to delegate my Steem SP and use the Steem raised to create a 'market' in which people can convert their SMT tokens back into Steem. Obviously my delegation would not make very much Steem (100+ a month to give away), but it might be enough for the those lucky first players and potentially lead on to a bigger uptake with others in the community willing to delegate/support the initiative.

For this to work I'd also need to work on a promotional code, that allowed people to download and play the special edition WorldofDASM at significant discount levels (if not free). It should be noted I am not a financial beneficiary of the WorldofDASM games -  the reason I am exploring this option is the community here on Steem was vocal about moving my IBT game activities off the Steemit platform. I do need to find some way of covering the effort and time of development of the Game and so I need to use an SMT to help with this in some way.

To sum up this post has three purposes.

  1. Raise Steem. I need to create an account on Steem for the SMT tokens and I also need to create the tokens themselves (At an apparent 100 Steem creation fee - I am trying to raise Steem for this purpose as well as test interest).
  2. Raise Awareness on SMT uses. I need to spread the word that this is something I'm exploring and that energy is being put towards a program that supports an early SMT and therefore is supporting STEEM. If I do nothing else here I will raise healthy discussion around the uses of SMT.
  3. Seek feedback and further ideas. If I'm creating an SMT and want it to be an in game currency, how can I make the currency worth something of value to it's users. One idea is allowing the conversion into Steem and underwriting this in a cost neutral way. What other things can be done? I was thinking to blend players Steem experience with their in DASM game experience we could give people special bonus's (in game) based on some of their Steem attributes (bridging the two communities). For instance if you have a level 60+ reputation in Steem and play Survival Series WorldofDASM then the rate you collect tokens could be multiplied for example.

Do you have other ideas for a SMT token game? how it could be used to improve people's Steem experience, if so I'd love to hear.

 All Steem raised here will be shifted to my savings account for a future SMT token establishment.

Sort:  

I think the use cases for SMTs are anything that might require additional exchanges...

So, for the regular IBT, you could upvote people as they play, but also award IBTBs (IBT Bucks) for completing particular quests or levels . The players could then trade in their IBTB for upgraded gear, or just exchange them back to Steem if they want.

So that's with Steemit Inc's SMTs.... I don't know what their SMT-lite will actually be. Your 100 Steem SMT is by Steem-Engine... they aren't Steemit Developers, they're just developers that have created SMTs that sit on top of the blockchain. I'm not 100% how that one will work.

Thanks for the heads up - wasn't sure if this was the official SMT or not. Sounds like its just a early or spin off version. Not sure what the official SMT-lite will cost to create? so I will keep any Steem here aside for this so we are ready.

..eck...not enough sleep...let me see if I understand this :)

Are you suggesting it's better to bring back the old IBT and run it on a Steemit platform and just add IBTB token SMT-lite component and Steemit will support this??

OR build a special app/Steemit like platform to run IBT, supports steem like upvoting and issue tokens in special app/platform/game by dev of special code.

Well... just to confuse things further... I thought the original Steemit vision was that you would create an SMT..... and you'd specify what the cost allocation was... say you created IBTBs..... as your fans, we'd then buy IBTB tokens and the Steem that we paid for those would be split up as you allocated... ie, 70% to WizardZap and 30% to LordNigel for development costs.

That's how I understood the original Steemit SMTs. I have no idea what SMT-lite will actually be.

The Steem-Engine SMT (the 100 Steem one) is definitely not the official one. It interacts with the blockchain, whereas the Steemit one will be inside the blockchain.

Sorry, I wasn't suggesting that the IBT would be better one way or another, I was just suggesting a potential usecase for SMTs. You said you weren't really sure how they might be used at all... so I was just creating a potential example to explain at least one idea.

Thanks for the clarity and your comments.

Would be keen to get yourself and others involved and give you a % of those tokens for helping should SMT lite come and be usable in such a way as you mention above. Happy to see others help out as well...really anyone who can contribute in different ways is good; as you know I'm not greedy, just need to make enough to cover costs then let everyone else share/gain in benefits of the tech.

My only concern is SMT or even this Steem-Engine thing, pulls users away from Steem/Steemit. It must compliment and thus increase the price of Steem (not remove from it). I'm a bit old fashioned, my loyalty and love is of all things Steem first - SMT must positively impact :)

Cheers mate

Totally get that. I think the Steemit vision of SMTs is that it would positively impact the price of Steem because there would be more transactions on the blockchain.... companies coming in and buying a ton of SMTs to award their customers... people buying SMT to help fundraise ICOs, etc.

I totally know you're out for the good of the platform, that's why we all think you're ace. Of course I'm happy to help out where I can.

Thanks man - appreciate the support and trust.

I know SMT's are fund raisers but being the slightly crazy non mainstream out of the box thinker I try to be... what if we reversed the paradigm and used the token with a view to get paid after the game is built - thus avoid running ICO's - unless there really is something in it and it's worth it, why not do it later. This could be done by doing something fancy/crazy like withholding 99.9% of the IBTB tokens.

IBT was always about sharing Steem. If I did a game that ran on a IBTB it would need to have a similar objective, however the hours to program something is crazy...I need to make enough to cover costs (not derive a profit or revenue) and the rest goes back to all the players. I just don't think people are gonna start transferring me bitcoin/steem on a promise of a game (they might do it for a big company or something in a hope to one day themselves get rich! but IBT was never about making individuals rich - I tried to create a shared wealth vision....but need to think on how I could make this work vs. not only giving players free game access but by paying them Steem prizes NOT IBTB (ensuring my true love Steem has a stake in this), but keeping enough to cover some expense of building...hmmn

To generate çost coverings we need to make the SMT IBTB scarce and tradeble within the IBT community and beyond.

For example If you want to join the community, you might buy some off a holder using steem (you can only be a holder if I've given you some IBTB for free (it's the only way to enrol) and/or you earned it by playing the game).

So to start I could issue a min set of tokens to all previous IBT players (free IBTB), they can on sell them to others as énrolment tokens or use themselves to enrol in game for free. As you know if you enrol in IBT you get upvoted by the community bot for your Steemit activities..if that community account became big enough then Steem people could benefit. So rather then a bid bot, where you pay liquid Steem you pop some in the community account (but your only entitled to do this if you are an enrolled player, else i return it) it's an elective thing to do... a kind of donation to yourself as the beneficiary of the community upvoter for a set period of time. OF course at the end of the time, the steem is re-dispersed to those who made the game possible and cover their costs (not to those who liked and supported the community account to which they benefited).

The issued amount of tokens would have to be set (no more made), the initial free hand out of tokens would need to be enough for a old IBT player to enrol for free and maybe enough for say one friend.

When you enrol to play the token goes into the mining/prize pool for the game. Effectively the only way to get more tokens is to play the game and the prizes progressively get less or cease if people don't get enough to get more players to join (promoting growth).

We create a demand for the token as the game is awesome and everyone wants to play and then if demand is great (as the game is awesome) run a 'after creation ICO' or release tokens on an exchange to generate money and open the flood gates for paying players. This way the product is guaranteed and we only get paid if their is demand, if not everyone benefit by just being part of upvoting, donating and being alpha players :)

Its late and I need sleep - it needs some more economic thinking; Maybe I'll do a draft white paper post for discussion :)

Cheers

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

This is awesome mate. Can’t wait to check out the game once you get it on the blockchain.

I’ll be certain to give a vote every time I see your updates.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Cool mate - Early days, but fingers crossed and lets see where it takes us :)

Clearly SMT-lite and setting up some key people for involement will be critical - keen?

Cheers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62872.85
ETH 3031.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92