You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit's New SMT Whitepaper: Creating an ICO Using Steemit?

in #smt7 years ago

I've just now gotten into reading about the news today as I was at work for 11 hours today and took a 10 minute lunch. I had been watching STEEM / BTC for a breakout and good lord it broke out! I didn't realize there was such major news fueling it til a bit later when I skimmed a couple of posts by people who had read parts of the white paper.

You pose a good point about usernames which got me to thinking...I wonder if we'll see people start snapping up usernames kind of like what happens with domain names on the web that got bought early on and sold to businesses or organizations who have an interest in using that name at some point.

Sort:  

Yes, that was the point I was making - but having read further into the whitepaper, I can see that the name of the account is not needed to match the brand of the ICO.. So no, there won't be a 'gold rush' for names. Interestingly though, I just ran a test to see if big company names had already been taken on Steemit and sure enough, 99% of the ones I tested were taken... @texaco @sainsburys @esso etc.

not surprising that big company names have been taken. Thanks for clearing things up regarding the gold rush for names. I hadn't planned on making new accounts but was curious if we'd see this happen and if there was something in place to prevent people from setting up a bunch of new accounts solely for this purpose.

I can see that the name of the account is not needed to match the brand of the ICO. This is probably a good thing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58482.75
ETH 2615.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42