You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 100 Steem Bounty: What is the solution to a lack of SMT development?

in #smt5 years ago

I'm aware of the comment thread that follows between you and @thedarkhorse. Though I'd like to butt in and give my crypto-newbie opinion if that's at all considered.

It sounds like we're taking the assumption of "just sell it in the exchange" for granted. Has the possibility of using Steem/SBD as a medium of exchange been totally scrapped in the zeitgeist of major Steem holders?

What if I one day offers a fiverr-type service to be paid in Steem and only steem, would that sound positive or laughable?

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Not laughable at all. If a fiverr-type service that used Steem as its currency got big enough that would be great. In essence that's what all the Steem-based apps are trying to do in their own ways.

I daydream about people using Steem/SBD (maybe not SBD yet until it's a properly functioning stablecoin) for real-world interaction. While I'm code illiterate, I still want to find ways to make myself useful to Steem not just as a hodler. Otherwise the thought of "Steem is only valuable by selling on exchanges" is depressing af.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59071.36
ETH 3001.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66