You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Will Steemit's New 'Smart Media Tokens' Mark The End For Comment Trolls?

in #smt7 years ago

I absolutely LOVE the lack of trolls on Steemit! I have blocked probably at least 200 trolls from my big account on Instagram. If you post controversial stuff, the trolls will find you on there. And you can’t flag them away on there like you can here on Steemit! Love it!

Sort:  

I can imagine, yes - I have over 100 blocked on Facebook without much trouble. I have gotten to the point where I just leave groups if there isn't a solid anti-troll intention from the admins as it's just a waste of time being there.
My own social network has zero trolling too, which is partially due to my adminning, but mainly because of the intention of the site. A troll requires space to be opened for them and so, we just don't open it!

That’s so cool I’ll have to check out your site also (: How many users and when did you start it? I’m intrigued.

Great, ok - you are welcome! There are several hundred registered users but active user levels are low for several reasons - mostly, I think, because people are so invested in using the mega sites that they don't like to move elsewhere. Since I built the entire social network myself (using open source code) and there is only me working on it - the traffic levels tend to reflect my own level of engagement on other networks... So as I make posts and share them on social networks, the traffic goes up and new members join - but when I stop, the traffic drops off. Google effectively delisted the site for several years and that is a long story, but I post controversial material there and they typically don't like that much. I also have zero advertising budget.

I started working on the early version of the site about 10 years ago - but during that time I have had to put a lot of time into caring for my elderly parents and also healing myself following a near fatal car crash.. All of that has slowed me down a lot. Despite all the challenges, I still think that it will get a lot bigger once I put the finishing touches into it and make moves to build it up a bit.

Well that all sounds really interesting man. I’ll sign up soon and show it to others (: Wishing all of us the best in the future and anything spreading conscious awareness is an A+ in my book! ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57156.19
ETH 2431.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41