Pipe Tobacco Review: Chonowitsch T 17

in #smoking7 years ago

Look what I won at the Sherlock Holmes Pipe Club tobacco raffle!

TinFront.jpg

I've recently returned to the Sherlock Holmes Pipe Club after a long hiatus - maybe one or two monthly meetings in the past dozen years. I was happy to discover there's still a friendly group of guys there who were welcoming after my long absence.

The meetings are friendly and informal. We meet up at a sportsman's club in the greater Boston area and fill the room with smoke in one of the few public places people are still allowed to smoke indoors. (When the club is booked for other events, we meet at a synagogue!) Dues are minimal and club business is conducted in loosely-followed Robert's Rules of Order fashion over a period of about half an hour. The rest of the time we just sit and talk about pipes, tobaccos, cigars, boats, guns, politics, and anything else that comes to mind. It's a wonderfully varied group of open-minded guys (and a couple of women.)

I don't have any photos of the group of my own, but do check out http://shpcboston.org/ if you're interested in learning more or coming to a meeting. The monthly newsletter is full of all kinds of great history and information, but club-related and generally, and all the back issues are linked from that page.

Anyway, on to the review...

The label describes this as a fairly complex mixture of leaves without any added flavorings. "Double broadcut light and dark Virginias, Old Belt plug, Macedonia and Latakia. Cool and slow burning Scottish mixture with full flavour." Since MacBaren's Scottish Mixture has been my everyday smoke for the summer (I've been buying it by the pound) this sounded right up my alley.

And it is indeed a treat. The aroma leapt from the tin as soon as I broke the seal. The woodsy smell of decaying leaves on a forest floor in late autumn, with just the slightest plummy undertones of fruit to it.

The leaves are cut extremely broadly; some of them unravel into ribbons nearly an inch across: beautiful, translucent, and leathery. And there was just enough moisture in the tin that the leaves were pliable and easily packed, but not so much that they clump together into a soggy mess.

I suspect that this is a well-aged vintage tin as well. I'm not completely sure if the 12/09 written on the bottom means that this was stored on December 9, or September 12, or December of 2009. But from the amount of crystallized sugars and the way the leaf was clinging to the paper wrapper that it's the latter - which would explain why it provides such a smooth and well-blended smoke. (Tinned tobaccos will age even better than cigars, if they're stored properly.)

So - on to the smoke.

This is one case where the flavor matches the smell impeccably. (This is not always the case.) The flavor is woodsy, tangy, just slightly sweet (from the Virginias) and heavily layered with a spectrum of smoky notes from the Latakia and Macedonian leaf. The nicotine content isn't overwhelming. (Lots of nicotine doesn't necessarily equate to lots of flavor, and too much of the stuff can leave my head spinning.) And the broad cut did indeed make for a slow, even smoke all the way to the bottom of a medium sized bowl.

There's enough going on with the flavor that it's worth smoking this one indoors. I think the complexity would be lost outside, at least on a windy day. This is a perfect blend for sitting by the fireplace this autumn.

This is a 9 (out of 10) rating from me, guys. I'll be ordering a couple more tins in the future, and I'll be curious to see if tins that have not aged as long exhibit the same mellow complexity.

Sort:  

Hmmmmmm... with this description, I want to start smoking pipes too. Always liked the smell when my grandfather smoked his pipes... hidden away in a tiny room, where he also painted. My grandmother hated both, the smell of turpentine, as well as that of tobacco smoke...

I made it a tradition for myself to smoke a cigar when I finish a painting. Forces me to sit still for an hour. Little private celebration of the completed piece, usually with a glass of whisky or rum 🥃

These little rituals add a lot of pleasure to life, don't they?

I'm primarily a pipe smoker but I enjoy cigars on special occasions - or when I feel like I need to create a special occasion.

Absolutely, they do! Haha... like that "create a special occasion"! 😁

this sounds very good, but certainly pretty expensive when it comes to my country

Sorry to hear it.

We have pretty high tobacco taxes in the US, but I didn't realize how much it cost to enjoy a pipe around the world until I started posting on Steemit.

How about cigars in Indonesia? Are they outrageously expensive too?

Are bidis and clove cigarettes still very popular over there?

Congratulations @winstonalden! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Mmmmmm mouth watering description Winston!! And I would love if there were a place around here that allowed smoking, damn they would get a lot of business!

Yeah, it's hard to find a business that allows smoking inside. The state says you can only allow smoking if you make something like 70% of your revenue with tobacco, which means bars, restaurants, and strip-clubs can't allow smoking. And now a lot of the tobacco shops themselves are prevented from allowing smoking with local ordinances.

The sportsman's club is actually just a funky little cabin near a rifle range, but it's a comfortable place to hang out, and it's in a patch of woods not far from the city.

It's crazy to me that you can't legally open a "smokers' restaurant" and only serve people who want smoking around them.

Because....then those restaurants/bars would put all the other ones out of business! :) :* :) I mean who would you rather hang out with? Right! Smokers are more laid back and a lot more fun. The pubs and bars would be packed that allowed smoking :) :)

It's funny - my wife's niece worked at a strip club - as the cook. (She's a sweetheart, but let's just say she's not quite fit enough to be a dancer.) And the tobacconist I managed supplied the club with wholesale cigars.

As a result Donna and I went there to hang out a few times - more than we otherwise would have. It was fun because we could smoke and shoot pool, and the dancers would come over to chat with us because we were with our niece.

When the state's smoking ban went through, it killed business for them. It was kind of depressing to see the ladies working so hard on stage while the men all stood around outside smoking.

Mmmmmm strip clubs can serve up a mean steak sandwich! And yeah that would be so sad to see...everyone outside...poor gals...

This world needs to bring back Common Sense!! And freedom. Yeah...that'd be nice....

I'd like a hit of that

Maybe we can have a smoke together one day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39