"Three Islands" by Nowhere Near (Downtempo Reggae World Jazz Electronica streaming mp3)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #smlchallenge6 years ago

One Media® presents "Three Islands" by Nowhere Near (Downtempo Reggae World Jazz Electronica streaming mp3)

"Three Islands"


Downtempo Reggae World Jazz Electronica in 32 bar AABA standard form, featuring synthetic steel drums in the head, a koto playing a bebop/hardbop style solo, with didgeridoo accompaniment throughout ...

One Media® humbly submits its Steemit Music League #smlchallenge season two, round three (S2:R3) entry befitting an Island Music theme...

In this piece, the composer decided to return to some musical elements from which our modernist sensibilities have lead us astray, particularly melody and form. One notion of Island Music is a sense of relaxation, so that guided the arrangement towards the lower end of the tempo scale. Of course some of the world's most beloved Island Music is reggae and the project, Nowhere Near certainly would include influences from especially the sub-genre of Dub Reggae as part of its musical pallette. While Dub Reggae could feel really dark and 'stoney', the intent here remained to keep the sentiment of the piece in a postive mindframe. In the composer's mind a conflict of authenticity remained, to play reggae honestly, one may presume one must first have partaken of a spliff of great abundance with I-and-I in a Kingston recording studio ... that irie opportunity has not (yet ;-) presented itself to Nowhere Near, so this piece comes from an instinct of relaxation, with the apparently unavoidable inclination towards a Jazz standard form and Bebop or Hardbop Jazz styled soloing.


With synthetic steel drums in a reggae influenced head, a koto taking a solo, and with didgeridoo accompaniment throughout, one ought to immediately recognize to which three islands the title of this tune geographically refers...


One could get philosophical and claim the three islands could refer to Self, Other, and All of Being, and certainly the cover photo for this tune alludes to something of that nature. But perhaps we'll plumb those depths at a later moment. However, in brief, there are certain paradoxical or diametric opposites at play here; old versus new, traditional versus contemporary, relaxed and primitive versus busy and structured, to name a few that come to mind. For instance, Modernism introduced into the approach of harmony, chords with ninths for 'upper partials' take a step further beyond simple triads and sevenths. A Koto played with technique befitting tradition, however also in a Jazz solo context illustrates a meeting of opposites. Of course, ancient and recent traditional instrumentation from disparate cultures in a Jazz setting also illustrates this point although one may recognize Jazz itself as a world music upon its first conception.

Technically, it was the 'island instruments' at the composer's disposal at the time which lead to the arrangment taking its final form, and giving the work its title. The didjerdoo was sampled from a previous project. The koto patch 'comes standard' with a Korg T1, and the steel drums (which comes standard with many other libraries) as heard here was a synthetically constructed combination from the T1 sounds, 'Spectrum 2', and 'Spectrum 4', and combined with its 'Pot Covers' program (patch). A PAiA Gnome analog synth provides a warm, gentle breeze of synchronized pink sound, and Zig's very own SIDnth prototype enhances percussion and hints of birds of paradise.


Happy listening!
Zig


©2018 One Media®

Sort:  

Ah @onemedia, tried to focus on my tasks why listening this and it was a huge challenge :D A huge variety of sounds here, nice improvisation!

Are you hosting all your pieces on musicoin?

Thank you my friend ... I will take that as a compliment, I myself never listen to any music (if it's my choice) while attempting to focus on a task. Music consumes me that way, and I would suppose I 'project that outward' (without bogging on psychoanalysis ;)

Since you asked, this is the strategy I have recently adopted, and think it's worth sharing ...

First I looked into musicoin because someone on our SMA discord channel casually mentioned it ... It seems like a fairly nice interface (even with their still calling themselves 'beta'), and certainly upholds at least a few of the values we strongly espouse here, namely blockchain-based, cryptocurrency rewards to content providers (and miners) I think the miners are also part of the decentralized serving of music ...

Ultimately, one differentiating factor of One Media® is our complete music videos ... I do have a soundcloud account, however without rewards I have little reason for it and little confidence in differentiating my content there.

However difficult it is to get youtube/adsense to pay (and getting more difficult as time goes on), it still made sense to offer a 'complete (music video) package' as the primary differentiation. Because of these difficulties, DTube would be a much more materially rewarding experience for video content providers who aren't already youtube moguls. I had noticed, just like the rest of steemit, DTube uses the same blockchain as Steemit, and thus rewards accumulate for only the first week of publication on DTube.

Therefore it makes sense to first publish on DTube, for the first week and then perhaps youtube a week later as (theoretically) adsense tracks views i.e. ad revenue in perpetuity ... However, as I mentioned elsewhere, I've been having difficulty with the final step, the infamous 'error submitting to the blockchain' red message ... I am looking into configuring IPFS on a machine other than my studio machine as my first guess as why I'm getting this error, though I actually did get one uploaded there without IPFS configured in the past...

This week I promised some friends with whom I've collaborated extensively in the past, that I'd publish their youtube video and I felt that I'd be inundating/overwhelming my audience with two works within two days (I should reconsider maybe a spray-and-pray approach does work but in some online communities it seems a bit spammy when one's own works dominate, more than one 'above the fold' when one scrolls etc.

So that prompted me to push the musicoin streaming mp3 here ... If our steemit blockchain did reward 'in perpetuity' I would feel morally obligated to entirely drop youtube because of the anti-free speech allegations relating to their '2017 adpocholypse' ... musicoin however could remain as 'portfolio diversification' ... for a crypto noob, it seems my eggs are already in Steem, BTS(thanks to this challenge!), and now musicoin ... no bitcoin (yet?) ...

Thanks for asking!

This is an epic post here :) So much value appreciate. I would imagine a @onemedia guide on the blockchain music space would be filled with such value.

Much love and respect.

Hmm yeah, thanks for the food for thought ... put my writing skills to use, and when I get just a bit more experience, even I won't be able to deny I have a unique perspective worth sharing ... ;-) Deeply appreciate all your encouragement, my friend. Peace and Love.

Amennnnnn you have such an incredible perspective I always love reading your content. Definitely have a certain style that hooks ya.

Appreciate your words . Peace and love indeed :)

Thanks, I often underestimate my writing skills ... I will write more on this topic, once I feel I have a 'well-oiled' running ... still working out some of the inefficiencies at the moment.

Man o man do I love your flowing knowledge pumped full post holy smokes. You will have to share which Three Islands you are talking about you stumped me :)

And this entry is captivating and enchanting holy smokes. That use of the didjerdoo is so awesome.

The sounds blend together to create such a vibrations raising environment. You can feel those sub tones as well and they definitely add to the overall element of this entry.

Thank you for all the time and effort you put into your post and the production of this enchanting tune.

Hope you get that opportunity in Kingston much love and respect :)

hmm, I'm wondering if I should turn it into a contest ;-) ... hint: Steel drums/reggae from? Koto from ? Didgeridoo from? Actually could be two islands one of them a continent (geez I'm giving it away now) and likely the one to its south famous for :

I forgot to add, now this is music theory on steroids, being a 32 bar AABA form 'standard form' ('B' is apparently the etymology of 'bridge' that pop musicians call one of their passages whether or not in 32 bar form) ... but at a chill reggae 90 beats per minute ... three times 32 bars added up to around 4:20 (appropriate for reggae ;-) after Three times around Head/solo/Head('de capo al finé' in classic jargon)

I actually practiced some restraint this time at most a dozen tracks instead of the couple dozen I've done in the past few entries ...

Always enjoy hearing your account of your aesthetic experience, and appreciate your encouragement!

Love and respect to you too my friend!

Ayyyyyy Austrailia, Tasmania, and Jamaica are my guesses :)

O wow wow that is so useful information about being a 32 bar form. Love learning from you.

Namaste

The didgeridoo could be from Tasmania also but certainly Australia, and of course Jamaica ... I thought the koto would be a give away ... like Kyoto, but don't ask me to wear a kimono ... ;-) Actually, that also could refer to any one of a number of islands in that island nation, too...

Oh and yes, I do get a bit of pleasure sharing knowledge, especially musical knowledge ... so when you hear someone speak of a Jazz 'standard', it most often is a 32 bar 'AABA or ABAB' form (8 bars per A,B in this form) , just like blues are mostly 12 bars ...

That is amazing to hear you love sharing knowledge and thank you for that knowledge nug :) I don't know if you have seen @novili 's Educator Showdown contest which is about sharing musical knowledge if you are interested https://steemit.com/educatorshowdown/@novili/educator-showdown-or-round-1-sponsored-by-steemit-music-alliance

Andddd Japan Japan :) Appreciate your spirit and patience ;)

Yes, we have a winner!!! with Jamaica, Japan, and Australia ... ;-)

Thank you for your patience with what could be a cryptic writing style of mine ... While I try to be readily comprehensible, I presume things must get lost somewhere from brain to mouth/typing fingers

Thanks for the Educator Showdown contest link... I will look into it, maybe something else I could bring value to, I certainly spout off like my 'knowledge' is worth sharing ;-)

best wishes!

Haahahaha ay winner winner chicken diner :)

You're very welcome buddy keep sprouting that knowledge :)))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57174.31
ETH 3071.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40