"Green Jig" by Nowhere Near (Electro-acousitc Celtic Folk Electronica streaming mp3)

in #smlchallenge6 years ago

Green_Jig_Thumb_sqr.jpg

One Media® presents "Green Jig" by Nowhere Near (Electro-acousitc Celtic Folk Electronica streaming mp3)

"Green Jig"


Electro-acousitc Celtic Folk Electronica, Green and at a Crossroads ...

One Media® humbly submits its Steemit Music League #smlchallenge season two, round six (S2:R6) entry in keeping with the Celtic Crossroads theme...

When the composer visited Ireland a lasting impression he took with him was how verdant the landscape was. As part of his 'day job' at the time, it afforded him the opportunity to give presentations on Renewable Energy at Trinity College Dublin and University College Cork.

While the two aforementioned events certainly can allude to a 'green' theme, a third factor influencing the title "Green Jig" manifests as this Jig is the first attempt ever to replicate a Celtic folk sound for Nowhere Near. If this recording achieves the goal of authentically presenting an original Celtic folk musical theme, one may attribute such success to beginner's luck, hence the choice of four leaf clover, also alluding to one species of clover of course also known as shamrock in Gaelic, for the cover image.

Predominantly acoustic instruments embody the piece for the first two minutes. A harp simulating a dulcimer, a tenor register hand drum, and claves are the only electronic sampled patches played until around 2:15 where pink sound sculpted to sound like the winds in early Springtime sweeping a North Atlantic island along with other electronica sets the tune in the Twenty First Century. Of course this electronica thus fulfills the motif of 'crossroads' as a moment in time between the Celtic tradition and the contemporary period.

Concerning the music theory behind this, the melody sits mostly on the fourth, 'G' of a D minor pentatonic, which in this case, although a minor key, stays mainly on the fourth and fifth, to bring a more bright and hopeful sound than staying purely around the minor third interval. It's actually somewhat modal because as the sub-dominant persists throughout the melody, it actually sounds as though it's the tonal center with a Dorian mode (F major pentatonic relative to D minor) played over the key of G throughout the melody line. The 'bridge' of the tune is purely a descending D relative minor scale.

The Baroque recorder and violin were recorded in two takes each on a total of four tracks to simulate a small ensemble upholding a Celtic tradition as genuinely as possible. A small pair of 'bongito' handheld drums were also added in a manner befitting folk music. These three instruments were recorded using a Sennheiser MD421 microphone. The native harp patch on a Korg T1 simulated a dulcimer here, along with 'T1 Drums' patch availing the low register hand drum and claves also resembling folk percussion. A PAiA Gnome provides the 'windy' pink sound and the composer's own SIDnth prototype produces the ringing and clacking electronica in the last minute.




Happy listening!
Zig


©2018 One Media®

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by onemedia from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

May the luck o' the Irish be with ya my friend! :-D Interesting track, diverse in instruments, and pretty cool IMO. Ya got skillz! :-) Have a great night.

Thank you my friend! If there's one thing I like about these battles/challenges it's the way they force one out of one's comfort zone. Actually I do like the prompts that seem 'made for me'. However, well, you know all the cliches about stepping out of one's comfort zone to expand horizons. I personally really didn't think I had this in me. I actually had to practice some last week just to get the fingers warmed up enough to the point where thought and action are not disjointed.

Yeah, the challenges will def make you step up your game and get you outta your shell. And I can relate... I am trying to come up with a tropical theme and sound LOL not my comfort zone at all, hahahaha! :-D And yeah I have bad arthritis and the fingers are on strike half the dam time. Have a great day my friend. :-)

Man, sorry to hear of arthritis. Actually I couldn't tell by the way you play, you still have velocity left in those fingers! I've heard of herbal remedies that reduce inflammation, hope you can get your hands on some ... I think PA is now a 'med' state if I remember correctly, so you may find legit sources without 'waiting on a friend' as Lou Reed once sang. I suggest that because it's a two-prong approach, actually maybe three, it helps with inflammation, puts many in a creative, musical frame of mind, and once you get exercise on those joints (I mean the ones with arthritis ;-) it prevents them from getting stiff, and more sore the next time you use them, more sore than using them regularly (if I understand the discomfort correctly...)

Yeah, it does take a bit of 'sinking in' for these themes to percolate up something I'm not too embarrassed to put out there ...

Thx. :) Yeah, PA is med, and I have to use other methods, mainly injections and pills for the duration, gotta a youngin and well gotta bide my time! LOL But I time it right, and get the motion where it needs to be. Getting old sux! LMAO :-D But still rockin in one way or another.

That's right, as an old colleague said to me, "Old age -- There's no future in it!" Yeah, I know about the Dad thing, discretion has always took the better part of wanting to relive my 'glory days' ;-) ..and since you put it that way, Keep on rockin'!

Your post is highlighted and given additional feedback in Issue #3 of Music Today here: https://steemit.com/sma/@smacommunity/music-today-issue-3-or-a-sma-community-initiative

Yes yes and yessssssssssssssssssssssssss.

You got me smiling and dancing with this one.

Absolutely love the the Irish feeling you create with this one.

That recorder and violine yesssss what a difference those make. My ears latched on to them.

And that harpppppp at 2:15 yessss how serene and uplifting. Helps add that Celtic flavor as well.

And what an experience that must have been working on renewable energy in Ireland holy smokes. And this postttt just flows and helps reiterate the message and makes sure we don't miss anything in your tune ;)

Much appreciation my brother.

Thank you, my friend. Indeed this latest round S2:R6 of the #smlchallenge did bring back fond memories. Glad I could convey some of the positive emotions ! Great day to you!

Ah that is amazing to hear gotta love those powerful memories.

And heck yeah you can't help but smile and move around to it.

Congrats on 2nd place as well :)

That was such a thrill!!! The roller coaster an artist goes through in the creative process ... Like the stories about Bill Walton, the basketball star, legends of him puking before each game ... Found a way to prevent it, and had his worst season, then went back to his previous pregame 'prep' ;-D I don't lose my lunch for these challenges, but I'm not lying when I say I often find myself outside of my comfort zone... That's growth for me!

Amennnnnn that's where growth happens a lot of time in my experience as well my friend outside the comfort zone.

And wow I did not realize that about Bill Walton and that makes total sense you have to keep to what works for you and not what society tells you. O weee gotta get that pregame prep in :)

What a soul you are much appreciation for all you do in this community.

Thank you! The feeling is mutual ... thinking on bringing something to the community, the idea I 'let slip' is percolating... The idea of going up to the Venice Beach boardwalk and putting on a show some night ... I was there in late 2017 on a Friday night and it was like a 'buffet of music', every few hundred yards along the boardwalk a van or pickup truck (in one case a school bus) converted into an 'instant stage/dj booth' each having their own 'micro rave' (pun somewhat intended ;-) There were even more conventional/traditional things happening along the walk...

So while you and @beatseb solidify your plans about your itinerary, (I thought it'd be late spring, but June is cool, too, the way time flies ...) I'll check the Venice Beach website to find out all involved in getting to play there ... Another place, even more edgy, a lot more anarchistic as far as 'anything goes, just show up' would be Slab City ... about a seventy five to a hundred miles east of where I presume Erica's place is ... in the desert, a micro Burning Man rave ;-)

Man o man that Venice beach buffet of music sounds absolutely incredible, almost like a scene out of a movie. Sounds incredible and most definitely keep us updated because that sounds like an experience that has to happen at sometime.

And o myyyy I watched a documentary about Slab City looks and sounds like a place we gotta go. Looks like an experience and a half :)) Either one or both would be epic. Thanks for thinking of these ideas. SMA going places :)

Ok, I found an email to the city calendar page for what looks like is officially called 'The Venice Beach Boardwalk', Google maps shows a 'Windward Plaza" where I saw those converted vehicles jamming out on that aforementioned Friday night. I will take up information gathering about how one 'gets booking' there ... I presume it is regulated, everything in LA is, take it from someone who has had LA's finest shut down a gig in my former band's own LA loft.

Slab City is more like a week or two before one wants to play at their performance space, bring a bag-o-weed and talk to the 'higher ups' of that community ... ;-)

Cool! I notice Slab City has lots of youtubers who could probably stretch out to dtube once they understand the concept, being as 'decentralized' as they are themselves ... It'd be cool to be the impresario who makes the link between steemit/SMA and the Slab City crowd, Uniting our causes for decentralization and all ...

Namaste!

damn i love it!!!! i was jigging around the room!

Thanks, much appreciated!!! Got your Holy Days in through musicoin and followed you back! That's great we're there too. See my comment under your challenge entry, I did my best to make sure everyone else can still listen on musicoin if dsound errors on them ...

Thank you my friend!

Nice Irish 🇮🇪 styles here at leadt that what it sounds like haha. Very cool bro heard you in sma.

be well

@onemedia

Thank you for listening here and on sma ... I was a little disappointed today over having technical difficulties, but would like to get on the SMA curation show again. I think (hope) all those technical difficulties are in the past now that I installed the discord desktop app.

I am starting to be able to discern your style in all these various entries. Took me far away, not only in space but possibly in time.
More than soundtrack-worthy. Great work and congrats to your continued success with your passion!

Wow, thanks! My style, thick as pea soup, and occasionally intentionally so ;-) Space or lack thereof, and time - I had a teacher who would say, "don't Jazz it up" on more than one a few isolated instances, well syncopation is something I always had, and it can often work ... ;-) ... Soundtrack-worthy ... oh wow, now you're talking one of my mania trigger points, woo hoo !!! I do really appreciate your listening and commenting!

Showed your music to a friend of mine recently, he dug it a lot.
But then, we are psychonauts.^^ Music has gotta travel me and yours does every time ;)

Yeah, regardless of my state of mind when I'm recording, something psychoactive always comes across. Gotta love that effect actually. Oh yes, I get that from your music also! I deeply appreciate your sharing my tunes with your friend!

We both appreciate music that opens pathways a lot. And I can kind of brag with all the awesome music by the Steemit crew ;) So much music with psychedelic focus, I love it. It really is time!

Oh, yes!! That psychedelic focus, and the level of camaraderie sets our Steemit Music Alliance apart from every community on the internet ... It is time for a new psychedelic movement, something to bring music of depth into the 21st century.

It exists and is rather strong and caring. However, as with anything majorly promising, it is already under attack. Something I will write a lot about pon my blog eventually, when I finally get to that point in catching up with my story.

I fully agree dude. The family feels like a good floor crew, mutually supportive and insightful human beings. Super glad to be part of it <3 <3

Well I certainly do see forces against any form of free thinking, or anything that appears 'too creative' as though that's a serious threat to the status quo ... well perhaps it is, but there is a lot to the status quo that needs to be scrutinized ...

Yes that reminds me, I need to look at your blog again soon. We do tend to get into deep conversations over those topics too.

Indeed this is a great community!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52