The Reason Behind My Smile

in #smilestory6 years ago (edited)

26165765_2046685432014610_1799550408077630318_n.jpg

I have had quite a difficult life when I was in college. It was all because of the choices I made but I blame no one for such hardships. Others call it misfortune, but to me, it was a blessing, and the greatest lesson I have learned thus far.

Freedom of choice ~ this is a privilege most of us enjoy. But it’s also with this freedom that many of us fail to make the right choices.

Mistake ~ we’ve all had a taste of its consequences, but it’s also through it that we learn, grow, and become better people.

19148910_1818870488129440_8730762353832328826_n.jpg

You might be wondering why I am talking about mistakes and bad choices when this is supposed to be an entry for the Project S.M.I.L.E. Contest? Well, because back then I thought my whole world has crumbled down when I got pregnant at the age of 18!

18, that was how young I was when I had to take the responsibility of being a mother. I had a husband -- a loving and a supportive one. But that wasn’t the problem. It was the pain and the disappointment that I have caused my parents that crushed my heart.

When I was in the delivery room, I felt coexisting periods of pride and excitement, but also unimaginable fear. The newness and unfamiliarity of the experience made everything so exciting, but it was also a moment of great uncertainty.

But, when I saw my baby for the first time, all the tears turned into smiles, the pain turned into comfort and the fear into a cheer. I have found solace when I held him in my arms.

Motherhood expanded my perception about love. It opened a part of my heart that I never knew existed. It allowed me to love unconditionally, no matter how difficult the situation maybe. And most of the time, I have feelings of inadequacy because of the learning curve that came with it.

Because of my pregnancy, I had to stop schooling for a year. Although frustrated and disappointed of what happened to me, my mom still supported me. But to me, having to let her carry the burden of my mistakes was obnoxious. And though I knew it would be very difficult, I chose not to accept financial help from her and worked my way up.

I transferred to another school and applied for a job. My first job in Davao was a service crew (cashier) at Jollibee, for only two weeks. A better opportunity came when I was invited by a friend to apply at Apo View Hotel as a telemarketer. I was hired and stayed for a year. Then came BPO in Davao, so I applied as a technical support representative (call center) and was accepted. I’ve been in that industry for two and a half years, until I graduated from college!

Thinking about it now, I didn’t know how I was able to survive studying and working at the same time, with only four hours of sleep or less every day. A lot of times I wanted to quit. I was too tired, too stressed. I was even diagnosed with rheumatic fever, a condition that put me under a five-year medication period of antibiotics. A lot of people have asked me how I was able to go on. But the answer was simple; it was always because of my son!

My son ~ the source of my joy and strength. He was always the reason why I persevere in life. And although I was not able to enjoy my youth, and pursued my dream which is to become an engineer, I didn’t mind. Because to me, being a mother was way better. I am fulfilled, I am happy.

My son @jameralim11 is now eleven years old, and at his young age, he was able to accomplish so many things! He is a loving, caring, and responsible son. He never failed to amaze me with his brilliance.

He is a Math quizzer – and have won 3 gold medals, 5 silver medals, and 3 bronze medals in several Math quiz bees so far.

He is also a campus journalist. He started joining writing competitions when he was in 4th grade. He always wins, fortunately! :D And just last November he was hailed as the Regional CHAMPION in the Regional Schools Press Conference. He and I will be going to Dumaguete City next week to compete for the National level! Wish us the best of luck!

He is not just into academics, he is also into sports! He is a basketball player at his school. And their team has proven their strength when they emerged as winners during the semi-finals of the JS Cup.

Because I was young and naïve when I became a mother, I wasn’t able to handle the challenges in my marriage. But those were things in the past, and right now, his father and I are good friends. We also see each other as a family, once in a while.

No matter how hard it is, I will always do everything for my son. He is the love of my life and my happiness, the reason behind my smile.

U5dtkxR5jWuo6F4m19MqyPyx9i8HjVp_1680x8400.png

Webp.net-gifmaker.gif

Sort:  

Wow. Very well-written piece and the content is..... amazing. I was both teary and smiley while reading this. How you explained the difficulties you've been through and how joyous having your son brought me into the two emotions for a moment. I applaud you for your courage to own what happened, for finishing your studies, and more than that I applaud you for the great love you have for your son.

Your son is enough for you to be proud of yourself. He has achieved a lot and obviously was raised well by a good mother, you. Continue to be a good mother to your kid. Both of you will get somewhere, with the love you both have with each other. This is a wonderful smile story and thanks for joining. :)

Ps. All the blessings to you and your kid on the upcoming competition in Dumaguete.

Thank you so much Beauty! It wasn't easy raising my son alone, but with the grace of God I was able to overcome all the struggles, with grace and with poise! My only wish is for him to have a happy, fulfilling, and successful life.

Thanks for wishing is good luck in our Dumaguete trip. But win or lose, I'm already very proud of him for reaching that far. 😊

Sobrang ganda talaga ng smile project ni beauty. Mapapa ngiti ka habang binabasa mo ang mga piyesa ng mga kasali.

Totoo na napakaganda talaga ng mga ngiti na naibibigay ng mga mahal natin sa buhay :) Good story @chinitacharmer.

Indeed TP! That's why even though I was very busy, I really took time to support this contest! The stories were not just inspiring but also a good reminder of the simple things that bring us joy! :)

Thanks for always supporting our Ohana TP! :)

this only shows how strong you are despite the difficulties that you have encountered. and despite everything, it was all worth it because of the smiles you can see from your family. :)
kudos to you @chinitacharmer! ^_^

Thank you @iamkuyaj! ☺ I had no choice but to be strong, and fortunately I was able to overcome the challenges. I know I will be hurdling many trials in the future but because of the love from the people surrounding me, everything will be made easy. Thanks again!

AMEN sister! ^^)
laban lang para sa pamilya! ^_^
you can never go wrong when it comes to family

I love how your son smiles, it has glow between his smile and his eyes. A really blessing and not a misfortune 😊

His smile means the world to me! Thank you @supercessang! ☺

I can see it in your face how it reflects to you =)

Motherhood is one fulfilling role specially when you see your children succeed in life. Stay happy. One happy mom here too! :)

Thank you @me2selah. It's even more fulfilling since I'm taking on both roles of a mother and a father. It's never easy, but it's all worth it! Be happy as well! 😍

aww what a loving mother. Cutie boy :)

Thank you sis! 😍

That smiles says everything :)

You are an awesome mother and your kid is so talented. Writing, sports and academics!! What can't he do!!! haha

I love reading this post and I hope that you win. This is one of the best so far. Or I can just threaten to kick Arnie hahahha joke.

Hahaha, thanks sir Mav! I'm really blessed to have a child like my son! He really strives hard to excel in everything, and I couldn't be more proud. Sulit lahat ng sakit, luha, at pagod ko. Lol! 😂😁

As I'm reading this, I can't help but feel that same pride you have in your son. He is a bright and talented boy. You did a great job and sacrificed a lot - I worked in the BPO scene for 3 plus years - so I totally know how taxing that can be.

Well-written with great family pics.

Congratulations and more power to you and your fam @chinitacharmer. :)

Thank you sis Noelle! Working in the BPO was too stressful but I have learned so many things because of that industry, I'm thankful for the experience. God has really blessed me with a good son. So even though I don't have a lot, having him (my son) and knowing that he's happy is already enough for me. :)

yay what a proud mom! sis, i actually hoped i had a child when I was younger..now its hard to have a baby.. am getting older.. i was pregnant once but lost it due to ectopic pregnancy

Now that I'm already where I am, it was actually a good thing I got pregnant early. Lol! We're like "barkada" lang sis, very close kami. :)

That's sad to hear sis. But don't worry, one of my bestfriends had ectopic pregnancy but she got pregnant again, and now her baby is already 1 year old. Have faith lang miss June. 👏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99