You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Problem With Flags - Educational Post

in #smartvotes8 years ago

I like your idea for the smart vote. That's actually a pretty ingenious idea. I have been an opponent of using the flag for anything other than spam, abuse, and plagiarism for a long time. I've encountered those that approach it as redistributionists, and I am opposed to the idea of redistribution unless it is voluntary from the person that things are being taken from. Voluntary is not how the flag works so it does feel like an attack. It has not really happened to me, but I've seen it happen to many people that I could not see why it was done. I was upset about the attack aspect of it. Sometimes it is intended as an attack. I consider involuntary redistribution an attack here just like I perceive it as such outside of the steemit world.

I do like your idea for smart vote. I do not feel anyone else should have the right to determine how I choose to award my steem power in voting. I do think the idea of a smart vote could be interesting.

I'd also encourage you to stick around DESPITE those who treat their power and the flag like a sword. Leaving will not change things. Staying and leading by example just might.

Nice post... resteemed.

Sort:  

You see I wouldn't consider it involuntary redistribution because when I arrived I was always aware that the rewards are not actually mine until after the payout. Until then they are part of the pool and the distribution is still being decided.

I've often had a post go from something like $90 down to $80 not because of any flags but because the whales woke up and just started upvoting other things.

Thank you for the comment and resteem :)

This is true, yet the argument for the downvote that is often used is exactly for redistribution. The person did not agree that someone else up voted the post to make a certain amount, so they choose to vote to redistribute some of that.

That is involuntary.

I don't know about you, but a big part of the appeal of steem power and accumulating it is the ability to reward people more. If someone with more power on a WHIM because they do not like something, disagree with it, or think it has no value can flag it and thus NEGATE my interest then that is involuntarily stating that my interest did not exist, and that my steem power had no value.

Any redistribution where the person that has the redistribution applied to them without them agreeing is involuntary. If I instead provide my steem power to a pool, that is voluntary.

It is basically the difference between me deciding to donate to a charity, or volunteer to assist in a project, and people forcefully taking my income and spending it where they like (such as wars of aggression). I freely admit I am an anarchist (or if you prefer Libertarian) so I am very anti-involuntary redistribution. I see it as no different than theft. Sure it was POTENTIAL earnings, but those earnings can be potential due to steem value fluctuating, and the overall distribution of the pool. Those things happen without someone negating my vote for something that was my interest. It is suddenly as if my interest in something no longer existed. YOU ARE NOT ALLOWED TO LIKE SUCH THINGS HERE.

Hey @beanz
Paying The Goons to Hit on some Account ????

It was meant to be satirical. They buy votes, so do I but they chose upvotes to redistribute, I chose down votes to redistribute. Only one person got the joke it seems.

I leave you alone for now.
Is not my business.
Will let you do the Fat Trimming.
I am now mainly catching the syndicate , stop giving to the wrong accounts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60970.82
ETH 2602.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65