AUSTRALIAN PELICANS.

This is my entry for Saturday's #smartphonephotography challenge sponsored by @juliank

Australian pelicans are found throughout the country wherever there is fresh or salt water, estuaries, lakes, swamps, rivers, coastal islands and shores. Their most distinctive feature is their elongated bill with its huge throat pouch. They are very mobile, always on the lookout for food.

WM rs pel 10.jpg

They cannot sustain lengthy periods of flying but can cover hundreds of kilometers over a 24 hour time span. By utilizing thermal air currents, they can reach high altitudes and can travel up to 56 km/per hour. When pelicans immerse their bills in water, they use their pouches as nets.

WM rs pel 8.jpg

Australian pelicans will feed alone or in very large groups and when combining their efforts in a flock, they drive fish into a concentrated mass by using their bills and flapping their imposing wings. The fish are forced closer towards shallow waters, by the surrounding pelicans by using circular motions.

WM rs pel 3jpg.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @trudeehunter! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Well, this is a nice surprise @steemiboard It feels like graduation day 👩‍🎓 Thanks so much .

This post was voted on by @votezilla

You got a 5.38% upvote from @votezilla courtesy of @helena-m!


Votezilla wants to help you promote your great content, that's why @votezilla only votes posts that are a maximum of 24 hours old!

Send at least 0.003 SBD to @votezilla with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.

That’s wonderful. Thank you kindly @votezilla and @helena-m I am very grateful.

great photos of the pelican :)

Wow. What a beauty of nature!
Actually i havent seen this animal upclose before. It never occurred to me that they even existed as i use to watch them in cartoons.
Thanks for the picture.

I'm very happy to introduce them to you then @joshuanaabu I have many more pelican photos to post as they live very close to me and I have gathered quite a collection. I prefer to take photos with my camera for better quality images but I didn't think these were too bad with using my phone. Nice to meet you and thanks so much for sharing your thoughts.

The pleasure is mine.

An amazing looking bird @trudeehunter! Its eyes seem so large; all the better to see the fishies, it might say :) And quite organized too, interesting corralling system!

They certainly are amazing birds @stanleyparker I could watch them for ages . Many thanks for your kind upvote.

The photo display is very natural, I think you really enjoy when photographing this animal.

Thank you @nazarul You are correct, I do really love taking photos of these amazing birds. Nice to meet you.

You're welcome . I really like photography, I hope someday you will go to my country to photograph many different birds here.

That is very kind of you @nazarul I’d really love to but I don’t know how possible it would but I appreciate your thoughtfulness. Thank you 😊

Yeah .. that could happen. But more importantly I am happy to get acquainted with you, do not forget to visit my blog maybe there we can exchange stories. Thank sister..

Oh wow Trudee, these are stunning shots of these marvelous birds!!!

Thank you Lena. I love pelicans. They are surprisingly graceful even though they are large birds.

Always a pleasure Trudee.............yes they truly are 😊

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #smartphonephotography

You have earned 6.20 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.24
Server time: 07:25:07
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 222.81/400.00
Total Photos: 14
Total comments: 106
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Wow liked your post .. happy reading it .... really amazing .... thank you for sharing a good day.

Thanks so much for pausing to view these images @imranpase Very nice to meet you.

Oh my! Look at the face on him!

They’re impressive looking birds aren’t they ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64156.67
ETH 3169.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53