Zig Zag Cake Cake

in #smartphonephotography6 years ago (edited)

What is it you do? @spozone builds stuff, and things too. I know the title may not make sense but if you were building this stupid house you'd get it.
IMG_20180905_131613.jpg
You can see the top of the zip zag walls there in the entry way. Some silly architect figured it'd be nice to have a little triangles closet back behind the bookshelf in the entry. Good as place as any to store a mop and broom I guess but what a waste of lumber to create it. Anyways as you can see in the following pictures near every room has a cake ceiling in it. And making that feature requires a good number of versa-lam beams, which means I got a good excuse for my back, arms, and legs hurting.
IMG_20180905_131604.jpg
And another cake ceiling way over in the master bedroom in the corner.
IMG_20180905_131600.jpg
Somehow I just got the feeling they are going to come back and say, "can you make that one in the bedroom an octagon" ...we'll see in a week or so but hopefully we'll be long gone by then.

I meant to take a picture of the garage joist as well but forgot, those 22ft long 2x12's weren't exactly lightweight either adding to the reasoning of being so sore the last day or so.
Still, it's not bad for 2 1/2 guy in 2 weeks and 2 days. I may be old but I can still move a lot of lumber in a short amount of time.
I'll probably finish this mini series of sorts as soon as we get the roof put on all the bracing in. It gonna be just 2 of us for the next few days the 1/2 person is missing in action - again.

Sort:  

Ugh - that hurts my brain. Best of luck getting it finished short handed - hope the weather is a bit cooler for you.

It's like playing pick up sticks, or Jenga in reverse. I don't know why, but I enjoy doing it. I think it boils down to simple choice. What kind of person do I want to be, one that destroys or one that creates, one that talks about doing stuff or one that does stuff to talk about. I think of it as art on a slightly larger scale, but art nonetheless.
Admittedly I'm a bit...touched. I once made a 35ft long mermaid out of sand on the beach with 6ft diameter breast. The best part about it was to just be out there with my friends and having everyone come by and ask "whatcha makin", to which I'd reply IDK or simply say digging like a crazy man that just got out of the mental ward. It took 2 days of digging and I saved the magic carving of the shape until the night of the full moon. The next morning people came by and we're amazed, later that day the rain came and brought with it a high tide and all was washed away. It was a nice gift to the ocean, my friends, and myself. Those were good times then, more of them coming again soon, I hope, as soon as I get settled financially a little better.

PS. We got rained out toward the end of the day. I got home looking like a wet dog. The rain was nice but had to go when it started lightening. Loved the sound of the thunder rolling in from the gulf... Complete ear orgy but not good to be 30ft up in the air holding a nail gun and a 4ft aluminum level... Nope. @spozone no getting zapped.

I completely agree that what you do is art. That mermaid sounds like it was amazing, even more so for the fragility of the creation - it brings to mind the Tibetan monks and their sand mandalas. Glad to hear Mother Nature gave you a bit of a cool off, without making your hair curly in the process. 😉 😊

All I know is one man can move a mountain of sand with a simple shovel and a vision.

What is a cake ceiling? That looks like a massive project. My house has several odd angles, and if you look close they didn't always come out exactly right. Wish you would have been on my building crew!

very cool! come build me a house please 😛

You have lumber? I'll come stand it up. You got to feed me and maybe let me and the kid hang around long enough to build a tiny home on a trailer. But yeah I'll do it.

@spozone hehe nooo no lumber ... i'd be making a earth home so dirt and steel. can you do that? :) okay about the kid and no problems!

Congratulations @spozone! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @spozone! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64