Buddha feels our love- Smartphone photography contest entry- light theme

in #smartphonephotography7 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for the smartphone photography challenge - theme light- by @juliank.


And every time I meet Buddha, every time I travel, every time I feel alive... I wonder, but I don't really want to know


buddha.jpg


CategorySmartphonephotography
SettingsHDR, auto-focus, 5.0 M
CameraSamsung Galaxy 7
Lens12 MPX (f/1.7, 26mm, 1/2.5")
LocationSiem Reap, Cambodia

This photo is representative of religious symbolism mixed with folklore, showing the worship for Buddha mixed with some Cambodian costumes.

In South East Asia, where I have been living for the last years, it is very common to see little altars at the entrance of a building, with Buddhas and all sort of things that apparently have nothing to deal with spirituality. Sometimes people don't have money to purchase Buddha's statues and they make up toys and put all sort of things in it.
You can see in this photo a mandarin, toys, nuts, candies.

The essential is that you make feel Buddha sincerely loved, no matter how. I find it very pragmatic and makes me forget the materialism that has swollen religious practices in some Western countries.

I am incredibly charmed by this (and by the bright dresses of the couple). You don't need any money to buy empathy!

I'm shining the light of Buddha to you, spread positive vibes and don't forget to smile at strangers.

Sort:  

Funny how the toys are raising their hands in the same position as the kitty-shaped tip jars I always see in Chinese restaurants.

I love the little glitter toys. It's funny to think of giving your got little bits of sweets, endearing really. I like it.

I'll have to do a post about my prayer room one day, probably closer to Losar. Buddhism is one of the most interesting religions for me, with its lore, kings and hero's so far from western culture and yet in parts they mirror each other.

Do it! It's very interesting to discuss about our believes =)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #smartphonephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Sunday.

You have earned 5.35 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.07
Server time: 02:52:28
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 29.55/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 19
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63562.42
ETH 2649.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77