You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Walk in the Woods • part 2 • Massive Stonewalls

At first I thought you were talking about Redding, CA and wondered where you would be finding those stonewalls. Do have any idea about the history of those walls? Those matching fissures are fascinating. Nature is so wonderfully mysterious. I'm enjoying your series...keep up the excellent work.

Sort:  

Hi @samanthajbarnes.. thanks for your support! yeah Redding, CT is a small colonial kinda woodsy town... pristine actually. Mark Twain had a house there for the last 2 years of his life.

This particular area, Collis P. Huntington State Park was a private estate/hunting area of Commodore Walther Luttgen, a New York banker in the late 1800s. He added much of the stonewalls.. and several earthen dams that created a series of lakes. He eventually sold the land to a step-son of Collis P. Huntington whom was a big railroad magnate and one of the Golden Spike guys 1869. His wife was famous sculptor, Anna Huntington.

But the place was strictly for pleasure.. very little evidence of "standard" human activity... only became a State Park in '73, so the place is MINT.

Wow! Thank you so much for that extra background info...I love getting the inside scoop! My mother and father were from CT. They moved to Southern California in 1950 when it was mostly orange groves. I have never been back to Connecticutt and I have so many cousins there. I should definitely visit.

very nice place to visit or to live!

Just noticed the you mention Redding CA,
I use to live near Red Bluff a few years ago.
There is some old rock walls, along
Jellys Ferry Road, just north of Red Bluff.
Real pretty drive, up along some hills to the
west side of road before you see the
Sacramento river is this old rock wall.
There is a video somewhere about more
old rock walls all along CA and CT.

Another trippy thing is Redding CA and
Redding CT sit along about the same
latitude line. Funny thing with names
and places :-)

One of my good friends was born in Red Bluff...small world. I know Jellys Ferry Road. I will have to look for those walls next time I'm up there. Thanks for all the interesting tidbits of information!

Indeed a small world :-)

There is some more walls, modern and way cool stone
walls up Ash creek rd, off Jellys past Roosters landing
resort. Up Ash creek a ways is a road called Wildcat.
All along these roads are walls and awesome picture
opportunities. Wildcat has the big ranch house and
tons of rock corrals. This road leads to Shingletown.
I heard it is all owned by the owner of the Holiday markets.

It's a skinny twisty fun road lol

there's an Ash Creek in Fairfield, CT just a coupla miles southwest of me..

Hmmm now this is getting even more trippy :-)

during the Clinton/Gore campaign of 2000, my son and I were looking at a globe of the earth... on the opposite side from where we live... and found Clinton, New Zealand right next door (few miles away) to Gore, New Zealand. Kinda weird.

Thanks again! It's always good to get the inside scoop. There are so many back roads that need to be explored...the skinnier and twistier the better!!!

hey thanks cool!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62151.48
ETH 2421.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57