Going Artsy, Dramatic and Abstract with My Smartphone - Devetashka Cave - Bulgaria

in #smartphonephotography7 years ago (edited)

A few years ago I seemed to all but abandon my "real camera" and crossed over to using my iPhone. It became a kind of therapy for me...a catharsis, if you will. I was free from equipment and fiddling with settings and was able to focus more on the composition of my photos. I also granted myself permission to be more creative. It was as if I used the screen of my phone as a divining rod, waving it around until I found what satisfied my eye. Many of my favorite images were random captures of the most ordinary things from interesting angles. As time went on, I learned the ins and outs of the camera and editing functions and have been very pleased and impressed with the quality of the images.

Here are a few of my more artsy / dramatic / abstract shots from my trip in October to Devetashka Cave just outside of Lovech, Bulgaria.

Devatashka Cave 1.jpg
I absolutely adore this shot! It's like a combination black and white / color photo but the color part looks like and old timey landscape painting. It's so dang cool, in my humble opinion. ;)


Devatashka Cave 2.jpg
There are lots of editing options in the iPhone7. This is using the Noir filter along with fiddling with the other settings. The clouds were perfect for this effect and check out that bird that flew through at the perfect time!


Devatashka Cave 3.jpg
This is the stream that flows through the cave. I pumped up the color saturation and the contrast a bit. The light coming in from an opening in the top of the cave caused a reflection on the water that reminded me of liquid metal character in Terminator 2.


I hope you enjoyed a little look into my photographic process. It has saved me thousands on psychotherapy bills just being able to wander free and play. ;) In the coming days, I will post more pictures of the interior of this cave.

Photos previously posted at:
https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100008940904112
https://www.instagram.com/samanthajbarnes/

!steemitworldmap 43.233698 lat 24.884892 long Devetashka Cave d3scr

Steemit USA footer.png

Sort:  

You have made 5 comments today in one of my 52 photography hashtags and received a {} percent upvote for your effort!

>Learn more here<

Mighty kind of you!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #smartphonephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Sunday.

You have earned 5.15 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 1/5
Multiplier: 1.03
Server time: 04:10:00
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 40.40/100.00
Total Photos: 5
Total comments: 15
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

All great photos but I to love the first one the mix of color and B&W works real well

Thank you! That shot was a fluke..I wasn't even trying. I love it when that happens!

LOLsometimes flukes are our best shots :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=samanthajbarnes
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=going-artsy-dramatic-and-abstract-with-my-smartphone-devetashka-cave-bulgaria


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59401.87
ETH 2615.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40