Picture Stories #173 - Jungle Nymph

in #smartphonephotography6 years ago (edited)

It is always great to see insects that can camouflage themselves and have the ability to blend in with their immediate surroundings. The below photos are of a jungle nymph - it is a stick like insect colored in a vibrant green tone, just like the leaves of a jungle. Interestingly, the features of males and females are very different in this insect - while the females are larger but possess smaller wings and cannot fly, the males are smaller in size but the wings are almost as long as the length of the body.


IMG_20180502_134555.jpg

IMG_20180502_134539.jpg

IMG_20180502_134545.jpg


While we get to see different kinds of insects in nature - in various shapes and sizes, most of them tend to creep me out and I'm not very fond of being very near them. I would rather see them from a distance or like in the above case behind a glass wall rather than up close.

Do you like insects?

Thank you for reading!

DQmZeYUg9Gkjfdi8NNXZaojy4cbGH8Ev1jNSPZZ3RvoPgZq.gif


PR.network - Public Reputation On The Blockchain! Join the future now...


esteem-banner-credits-dunsky-podanrj.png


Amazing initiatives/communities I'm part of - Click on the images to find out more.

1.png 2.png 3.png 4.png

Sort:  

Insects are conditionally great. The condition is: no biting me, no eating stuff I planted, no flying near my head.
They come in so many shapes and colors. They use plenty of physical phenomena large creatures like us don't really pay attention to, so when we look at them they seem amazing. For example:

  • caterpillar - how can it just go to sleep and turn into something completely different?
  • ant - how can it lift so much?
  • water strider - why does it not sink?
  • diving beetle - well, this one does sink, how can it breathe?

Even regular butterflies when viewed in slow motion just flap once or twice and then stay lifted in the air like it's nothing. Crazy stuff :o)

Haha those are some pretty legit conditions!! Nature is crazily beautiful :)

I find this insects fascinating. Nature is something else.

Very true :)

Wow... I didn't see it in the first photo... It blended totally with the greenery. With such ability or gift, i want to know if they're harmful so that when i come across them I'll. Know what to do

Yup, perfectly blended with the scenery! They're harmless I guess :)

I like ... because if in our place ..., this is called by the name of DARUT and There are also some people here calling it ACEH.

Almost all animals are very clever to adjust their colors with leaves, maybe this is one of the ways they hide from their prey.

that's an interesting local name... yes, one of the ways to stay safe.

I like insects, but not all :))) I prefer small and cute :)) the same thing with fish :)) as soon as a creature in its size approaches the size of my palm, I start to fear them :))
Yesterday a very nice beetle came to my house! :))
06610B25-7F97-4297-9DFE-81980E837A2B.jpeg

lol i don't usually prefer any :D nice picture...

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

You got a 31.82% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @jznsamuel!

Amazing how the nature think out the tricks for all living creatures to help them survive. To tell the truth it took me a while to find a jungle nymph on your photographs. The color is really completely the same like the leaves of the plant.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62345.27
ETH 2427.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49