"Sarok Sa Consolacion Sarok SaKinabuhi #they dance and shout merrily

in #smartphonephotography7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180214_150843.jpg

"where there is love there is life " **mahatma gandhi

Today we celebrate three significant events -the start of advent because it's Ash Wednesday,Valentines day because it's Feb 14 and the 94th founding anniversary of Consolacion Cebu which they highlight with Sarok festival. All these celebrations will allow you to love life

IMG_20180214_150946.jpg

Although I don't have a lover to shower me with blooms or chocolate I know that the Lord my Savior loved me deeply and his gifts are in everywhere and in everyday. He has loved me at my worst and unlike human love his is forever never fading.

IMG_20180214_144227.jpg

Though this is my second year to witness the Sarok Festival I still find myself amused at the glamorous costumes, festive beat and the cheerful dancing. Indeed, Filipinos know how to manifest their love for Jesus in all forms of art.Inspite of many tribulations and economic downturn we are generally grateful and happy bunch.

IMG_20180214_150415.jpg

As I make my way to the crowd I can't help noticing lovers in embrace and parents taking souvenir shots of their kiddos in their fancy costume. There is so much love in the air it's hard not to be infected. Moments like this despite their brevity so last a lifetime. I bet irregardless they won or not, it doesn't matter as they did their best and for the right reasons.

IMG_20180214_145306.jpg

As I go to work I carry with me that hope that no matter how difficult life can be we can always take refuge in our God, the company of friends and family we are blessed with and in the hope that as long as we do what we want with love we will never go wrong.

IMG_20180214_150531.jpg

This brings me to mind the rugged looking"salakot" woven by hand made from grass leaves yet efficient in warding off sun and rain. Millenials would most likely not use it except for occasions such as this in favor of baseball caps but I hope they will continue to patronize this festival so we can ascertain the new generations will know what Sarok is and what it stands for. Only by loving a thing will you be able to protect it with all your might afterall.

IMG_20180214_144825.jpg
I hope Valentine's is good for you fellow Steemians. May you give and find love that you can grow old with.May you be beacons of love wherever life finds you.
May you journey in life taking only joy and giving out of love.

IMG_20180214_144755.jpg

Till next post,
Ayn

Sort:  

What a colorful event. Good to know about new cultures. Thanks for the upvote on my blog. Upvoted / followed.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.10
Server time: 12:00:23
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 481.50/200.00
Total Photos: 80
Total comments: 20
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.33 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Hi there!

What a fantastic event, so much colour and joy.

And love.

Although the basis of our beliefs are different, it appears you are religious whereas I am spiritual, I reckon that we are on the same page.

Upvoted/Followed ~ I look forward to virtually getting to know you.

xox

@ldacey-laforge maybe we will find out we have any things in common. Will follow you too. thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63342.86
ETH 2731.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64