Sort:  

I have a backyard mixed flock. This batch right now is mostly from either eggs I bought from a breeder who does only heritage birds. Once they go through their first molt, she puts all of them in a yard with assorted roosters she didn't sell and people buy the eggs for either eating or to hatch their own. I did an incubating class and hatched out 40. And the rest is from those making babies.
It is only a problem when you have too many roosters and your neighbors turn you in to animal controll 😡 And I am really bad at slaughtering. I can do everything after the dispatch - but not the deed itself...

:)

Yeah, slaughtering is not fun. We don't have chickens now but I definitely prefer laying hens to broilers for this reason.

Heritage birds are good for both - eggs and meat. And when you have chicks hatching - 50 % are boys and they need to go into the pot eventually :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61896.22
ETH 2413.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66