I will never laugh at anyone who drops their phone in the tub again.

in #smartphone7 years ago

We have all heard the stories. Smartphones being dropped, smashed, run over with the car. Dropped in the tub or toilet! I have always thought how careless! I am very aware at all times and go to lengths to assure the integrity of my personal belongings...

      But I had to load up a new phone today. I both lost and destroyed mine in an instant of carelessness. 

I didn't smash it or drop it in the tub or toilet. God forbid. I know exactly where it is too! It is (or was) still powered up in it's resting place. It had a very soft landing too but I am not going to attempt a recovery.

        Years ago on Christmas eve, our sewage system backed up and completely stopped. It was awful. Just one of those things. I had to dig and intercept the pipe in the frozen ground. We have a septic type system with a tank, and I had to figure out where it went in and out as well there. After that situation, I modified the tank entrance for easy access when things "stop".

Today they did. As I was working on this MY phone saw fit to enter the abyss. Like a high tech Titanic it gently sunk down into the muck forever. Can you hear me now ? Nope....It made for a "crappy" day but I got a replacement up and running pretty quick.

       I will never lambaste anyone for dropping theirs in the tub or toilet again.. I topped that today. Perhaps bottomed would be a better word.

         Before I transferred my number to the new hardware I did do a little experiment. I went out with the cordless phone and placed a call to the submarine phone just to see If it would ring. Alas no... No one to answer down there anyways.
Sort:  

Congratulations @kirkwise! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Here are the winners
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59179.00
ETH 2969.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75