Adventures in Crypto, Bringing the family into SmartCash

in #smartcash7 years ago

Welcome loyal followers and new readers!

Today I wanted to share how I introduced a family member to SmartCash and SmartCash mining. And I will provide the same steps for you in case you want to follow suit.

Convincing him was surprisingly easy. I had explained that his newly purchased gaming system could be put to work mining cryptocurrency while not busy. He has a GTX 1070 so plenty of hashing power was wasted everyday sitting idle. He liked the idea and asked what I recommended to mine. I suggested SmartCash since the setup was super simple and the currency has a lot of room to grow so any coins mined now will only increase in value.

I walked him through setting up a SmartCash web wallet, then creating a SmarCash pool account, and finally configuring the miner. We spent more time coming up with secure account credentials then anything else!


Image source

Here's how to get started mining SmartCash in an as few and as simple of steps as possible.

  • Go to https://wallet.smartcash.cc/register and register for an account
    image.png

  • Once inside make a note of your spending wallet address
    image.png
    (Feel free to send me some SmartCash :P)

  • Go to https://pool-us.smartcash.cc/index.php?page=login and register for an account.
    image.png

  • Once in, go to the Homepage to get the miner and syntax you need.
    image.png
    SGMiner for AMD
    CCMiner for Nvidia

  • Extract the files you downloaded and create a new text file
    image.png

  • Open the text file and copy the line from the home page mentioned in the earlier step
    image.png
    This may be the most confusing step for noobies, but I'll walk you through it.

    • Change 'PoolUsername' to the account name you registered on https://pool-us.smartcash.cc/
    • Change 'WorkerName' to whatever you want.
    • Change 'WorkerPassword' to whatever you want. (Worse that can happen is someone gives you money lol!)
    • Click File, Save As, change the filename to start.bat, and set the 'Save as type' to 'All Files'
      image.png
  • Double click the 'run.bat' file and you are off to the races!
    image.png

  • You can check your worker status and earnings on https://pool-us.smartcash.cc
    image.png
    image.png

It may feel like a lot, but trust me once you start going through the steps it's not too tough. If you have any questions or run into any issues feel free to leave a comment below.

If you want to tip me, hit me here!
image.png

Sort:  

Thanks a lot @ajaxalot for convincing me too. TBH I never had the balls to go for mining of any coin or crypto because it all seems too much of a work to me. But this sounds pretty easy. And as you suggested at the end, I will definitely give this a try.

GTX 1070 delivers great speed and power and I hope the the likes of it will provide enough hashing power to do a profitable mining business.

Do you suggest any other coin to mine which has a similar method?
I want to kickstart with simpler ones and then move on to complex ones. Step by Step!

No other coins I can recommend right now as I haven't tried them myself.

Very clean, concise and to the point while remaining easy to follow. Very nice. Now you have me second guessing all the information I included in my latest post, also a mining guide. If you have not done so, please stop by to check it out, here. Following. @doc-gonzo

I checked out and upvoted your post. My goal wasn't to replace yours or anyone else's guide, but to give a quick look at setting it up so that new users don't feel overwhelmed and give up before they even try to set it up.

Having detailed guides is great for people like me who enjoy reading an in depth guide before jumping into something.

Great work!

Sharing is caring, by default your family is your first love, your inspiration and everything for you. It's natural to show them love. But if you bring the entire clan to adopt SmartCash your entering the next level of caring. It shows that your not love then in present time but you have care for the next generation of your family. You just introduced them to the future. Because the future is now, and SMART is the future

When SmartCash goes to the moon I'm sure they'll feel extra appreciative.

Dear ajaxalot,
Nice post my friend. I have to admit that I am not the biggest fan of mining 'on my own' but the coin smart is lit af.! Definitely a longtermer imo.
Yours truly, Gandalf The White!

I like. Anything with mining is fine by me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83