You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Your Post Isn't Getting Any Love: The Dunning-Kruger Effect #smallpost

in #smallpost8 years ago (edited)

This helped open my mind a little bit. My posts haven't been going anywhere lately and I think it may be because I'm overestimating the quality of the content... Thank you.

Sort:  

No worries man, I've been there. If you ever want some help feel free to reach out to me on slack. Honestly (since you're commenting on this post I'm going to assume you won't find advice condescending) after a quick look at your blog I can tell you that, in my opinion, your titles need work. That's a good thing! Titles are easy PEAS to fix :) Heuristic #1: What would Donald Trump name this post? Heuristic #2: Is there a precedent or superlative in the title? What focusing on precedents and superlative force you to do is focus on the original information within your post. If you can't find a legitimate precedent or superlative to describe your work, you might want to go back and refine the content a bit more. I think a good title may very well be responsible for as much as half of the value of a post. I think people probably upvote content with good titles because they assume it will get lots of eye balls which will lead to more upvotes giving them curation rewards. I think if they recognize the content creator and believe them to be a consistently quality producer they are even more likely to upvote quickly. But look, traditional media has known the importance of titles forever. My final heuristic is, "Is this clickbait?" Obviously I want the answer to be "No." But really, you do want your titles to be as sensational as possible without being clickbait. That's definitely a tough one to gauge. For that I look to the flags. Personally I don't want ANY flags. One tops. If people flag my post I'm going to assume that I somehow mislead them and correct any error which might have done that. Thanks for the great comment!

I appreciate any advice coming from anyone. I'll try produce more catchy titles from now. I really thought I already was. Guess I was clueless. I'll definitely jot this down in the Steemit memory bank. Also, I don't think I have a problem with flags, I think the most I've had was 3 for a post where I swore a lot and was drunk. But meh. Anyways, thank you again. Hopefully my next Trump-esque titles help me in the future.

Not getting any flags isn't necessarily a good thing. You might not be pushing your titles far enough. Not that the goal is to get flagged. You're not clueless, you're just struggling like we all are. Just do your best, learn from your mistakes, and try to find something you enjoy doing. BTW you inspired my latest post. Gave you a shout out: https://steemit.com/smallpost/@andrarchy/how-to-create-a-compelling-title-smallpost

Thank you friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59311.47
ETH 2603.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40