Create a THE WORLD'S MOST COMPELLING TITLE #smallpost

in #smallpost8 years ago (edited)

Below are the heuristics I apply when attempting to craft a title that will get the attention of potential readers:

#1: What would Donald Trump name this post? You don't have to be a fan of Donald Trump (I'm certainly not) to appreciate his ability to sell a product. He always keeps things short, sweet, and to the point. And he is always certain to emphasize precedents and superlatives ... which is actually heuristic number two:

#2: Have you emphasized precedents and superlatives which accurately describe your content? Take, for example, my video titled, "The FIRST Steemit MARTIAL ARTS Tutorial - The Most Powerful Kick (Thai Kickboxing)." Now I'm sure there is a troll out there who would be happy to call this clickbait, but that would ignore the fact that it didn't receive a single flag. That's because it really was "the first" (a precedent) and there actually is scientific evidence that the kick is "the most powerful." Obviously not MY kick, but the technique. Had it been flagged I would have gone back and dialed down the language a bit. But I am trying to push the envelope. Which brings us to...

#3: Are you being as sensational as possible without being clickbait? Maybe sensational isn't the right word. Maybe "compelling" is better. I don't get hung up on semantics. Language is imprecise. I want my title to sound as exciting as possible, without risking that the audience will leave the article disappointed. I view that as part of the content-creator's job to walk this line. Sometimes we will step over. I believe that the most you can ask of yourself is to be wary of this risk and eager to correct this mistake when it happens.

#4: Have I maximized the amount of original information contained within the post and minimized the amount of unoriginal information? Human beings are information processing nodes. We crave new information and abhor old, flawed, information. In other words, if I am telling my audience something they already know, I am wasting their time and mine.

Hope this helps :)

This post was inspired by @senseiteekay

Sort:  

LMAO... What would the Donald call this post. Man... I never thought of that. Bravo. Probably the best advice I have been given yet!

HAHA thanks! Yeah man, it's probably the most simple but powerful heuristic I can think of :)

Can i take it and tell about it to my friends?)

Good advise for a YUUGE impact! Great advise. Great advise. Helps a lot.

Also take care about your first sentence in the article fitting to the headline for it is also shown in the preview.

Excellent point

This is the only time I wish I could think like Donald Trump...

Hahahaha, that is definitely a good thing :)

I know! But you're right. The man, however questionable, knows how to sell himself.

Who else enjoys these short and concise posts?! Thanks for this @andrarchy

I know right?! That's why I'm trying to push the #smallpost

They go right to the point, and are a quick read, perfect for an ADHD addled mind.

You might want to look into this

http://www.aminstitute.com/headline/

This free tool will analyze your headline to determine the Emotional Marketing Value (EMV) score. As you know, reaching your customers in an deep and emotional way is a key to successful copywriting, and your headline is unquestionably the most important piece of copy you use to reach prospects.


DJ Trump approves :D

Thank you, your nice as well. Follow me if you like @thealexander.

Thanks @andrarchy

Your words of wisdom are sure to benefit me on my next post :)

Trump Steaks now only 49.95!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28