You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SMA Feedback Contest - A DSound Community Initiative - Round 5 Is Live!

in #smafeedback6 years ago

Hello I haven't entered this contest before. I am only using pre-made loops in Music Maker, so I have not fiddled with any adjustments. But I would still love to get feed back on the use of the instrumentals, sounds, and timing :D

This is a beat I made. I used it in a video to show off my Sims 4 beach house. Take a look and let me know what you think!!

Sort:  

The synth lead seems slightly off, but it still works well - I really got into the groove after the first few bars. And yet again, your arrangement skills are really nice. I think once you dare to make your own sounds in a DAW you will have a lot of headstart to most producers out there because your arrangement keeps me engaged til the end, which is something I still struggle with many times today. Having great material is one thing, but arranging it so the track doesn't get boring is quite another, and the tracks from you I have heard always kept me engaged, despite it not being my favorite style. Good job!

As for mix, it might be a good idea to decide what to put emphasis on. While this is always acoording to taste it would be beneficial to lower the volume of the other instruments in the mid range as long as the main vocal is singing. This helps because then the attention of the listener will stick with the vocals and not get sidetracked so much by the other instruments in the same frequency range - vocals, piano, guitars often share thios mid range in frequency and the ear tries to capture these all at the same time. The beginning is good, the "aha yeah's work well with the piano, but when she goes into the verse DARE to lower the synth, or turn her voice up a bit. In DAWs you can also automate this, meaning that whenever the vocals come in, the piano and the lead dip away in volume slightly (which producers generally call a "sidechain")

I really like the vox samples that your software offers. And if you just keep building you will eventually want to move to some DAW just to put all your ideas into music. Until then you will have learned so much already that I feel your approach might pay off greatly. Mileage now and keeping the love for producing alive, working with what you have vs. getting into some hardcore program too early and not being able to get anything done, which is frustrating.

The tune was catchy as well. A little too catchy for my taste ahahahaha. Don't want booty lyrics in my head all day and they are stuck there now after second listening, I need to get them out now ;) Generally though that is precisely what you want to happen though ;)

Continue!

Thank you so much for the feedback. I do have the options to turn down the other instruments, which I haven't been doing because I am afraid to mess it up too much, but I will try that from now on. :) I will keep trying.

i listened to your tune and i do not know much if anything about music maker, so i do not know what the deal is. so i can say that i was laughing and thats a good thing! i find a lot of humor in this track for some reason. if i am laughing, i am liking! and as far as your timing goes for your changes and such, all wonderful! the parts kept fresh, and i like the loops you pixked. i believe they all work together very well! i would like to see you go farther and make some tunes not just using loops and such. go deep my friend! its the funnest place in the world. you obviously have the love and natural talent! well done!

Thanks for submitting @simgirl :-D It's all good my friend, let's see if we can round up some comments and tips. Have a great day. :-)

Thank you! It is weird I will go to make a song one day and everything sounds good, and then I start another one and nothing sounds right! How do the producers keep track of all these loops??? I feel like I pick the same ones all the time. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59702.71
ETH 2542.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54