You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SMA Feedback Contest Round 6! A DSound Community Initiative.

in #smafeedback6 years ago

I pressed play and will type as I go, pausing to formulate thought.

Starts strong, the guitar is cool and the drums do well in assisting the songs rhythm. Has a cool rock and roll sound and sounds pretty well produced. I like the parts where you cut out the guitar and just leave the hats.

The section goes on for too long in my opinion though. I'm a minute in and the song sounds basically the same. You have this cowbell comin at 1:29, but it doesn't really do enough in terms of destagnating the repition.

The guitar that comes in at 1:52, however does. Maybe put this in earlier. I would also look into the mixing between the new guitar and the old one, because they seem to clash. The sounds aren't coming through as cleanly as I feel they could be. That being said the new guitar is really cool. I like the melody and timbre, has a real rocker sound and the cuts where you just have the high hat sound even better in this section.

The cowbell you brough in around 2:34 really just sound bad in my opinion. It doesn't fit in very well and distracts from everything else.

Starting at 2:59, this is just too much. I can't hear any elements out and it just kinda sounds like a rhythmic clusterfuck.

The rhythmic clusterfuck didn't end till the end and franctly I found it really hard to listen too. I supose that that was what you were going for, but damn. Try removing elements from the song in the progression. You had a rhythm set and then you kept adding things on to it and really was just too much. I feel confused.

The idea was good, but the song kept going up. Sometimes music needs to go down in energy too.

Sort:  

Thanks for this valuable feedback. It will definitely help me improve on my mixing and arrangement decisions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60379.35
ETH 2434.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47