Sort:  

You channeled a spirit of organic and extensive .... aliveness. Like a determined pirate sitting on the drums enjoying himself and the flow of the track, I can almost see him grinning ;)

The effect is a catchy riff despite the absense of strongly melodic notes - rather you seem to paint a picture with fractional notes brought on by the strong percussive elements.
The downturn at the end of every phrase makes it a seriously compelling case, and the challenging leads that come in later make the psychedelic experience unmistakable and rewarding. We are slightly out there, which is always a good chance to discover aspects about ourselves as listeners.

I absolutely ADORE the irregular piano offbeat chords you snuck in there, as well as how it turns to open up more room for them as we go on.

The mix is solid, which seems rather hard to do considering all the instruments at play here. Stereo Image seems balanced and the short reverb works well with the 'craze' of this track's level of aliveness.

Definitely not a journey I could go on on any day, but today was more than fitting to go out and try something new. You captured that perfectly with this track.

In its odd crazy way, it stuck with me even after the track was over. Like a good psychedelic journey ought to ;)

The artwork and name further underline the spirit of the music. It feels royal somehow - especially with the strong pianos that give it such a grown-up vibe - complemeting the craze of a tough trip into play and freedom a reckless child in a sandbox would have when noone is looking.

Hope you can use this info, reading it again now I am not entirely sure if my impressions can be put into words AT ALL ;) Which is an ample win for your track, as these things are best LISTENED to, not described.

Rulebreaker ;)

Very much appreciate your feedback, and I'm glad my tune was able to bring out such creative descriptions from you. It's always rewarding to see how my work grows in the minds of the people who experience it.

I totally know that feeling for sure <3

I love the liveness of Mongo Chops first off. Their is a nice chunky vibe brewing here! and I enjoy the long build before we get to the guitar. that bass has a real nice sound to it. The slap happy drums come with a fun rhythm that I dig. This bass and drum combo makes me feel like I am watching a cheech and chong movie, and this is a great thing! Were having fun! We are stoned out of our minds! The music is raw and rowdy. I feel a story here. And I could hear this tune in a soundtrack. Perhaps a scene where the druggie needs to flush all the drungs down the toilet and the cops and busting in the front door! Again, we are having fun!

So you got me with all the rawness and juicy radicalness that Mongo Chops is bringing.

Now for my thoughts on possible improvements and such.
I honestly think you have to do another take on the guitar. i bet even you know that you have a better take in you. it is sloppy and i get that is the point, but from some of what youre doing already, i know you got another take in you that would really make this one go! the drums and bass are so loopy that i really want the guitar to be the master bad ass lead that it is meant to be!
And hell, I love this piano but I wanna hear it better! So now I am talking about the mix. There is a better mix for this rad track. spread them out with some panning. it is getting a little muddy. i know you want some mud, but let that be heard! and I wanna hear that piano more!

i hope my notes land kind as i truly am a big fan of Mongo Chops! For me you are doing a lot of right here! about 80% right for me. but i feel another guitar pass, mess with the mix a bit, maybe some panning or more EQing. But as I said, you have won with so much with this one for me.

great ride! thanks for making it, being creative, and sharing it, and letting us feedback!

I don't know why I've always been hesitant to use panning - I probably figured that I'd go even wilder by having everything waving back and forth. But now I'm starting to educate myself more on the proper way to do it, like using a panning map. The name kind of threw me - maybe if had been called placing I would've understood sooner.
And so thank you for pushing me in that direction; it's great advice.

a lot of times when i think of panning. i think of it like a band on stage. their amps and such are spread out across the stage. drums and bass i normally keep straight up and try to make them work and fit together with EQ. also vocals i normally keep straight too. even if it is an orchestra or a big band, they are spread out, even if it is just a little. but experiment with it. go nuts! always go nuts! thats how we find amazing weird ass sound!!

I pressed play and will type as I go, pausing to formulate thought.

Starts strong, the guitar is cool and the drums do well in assisting the songs rhythm. Has a cool rock and roll sound and sounds pretty well produced. I like the parts where you cut out the guitar and just leave the hats.

The section goes on for too long in my opinion though. I'm a minute in and the song sounds basically the same. You have this cowbell comin at 1:29, but it doesn't really do enough in terms of destagnating the repition.

The guitar that comes in at 1:52, however does. Maybe put this in earlier. I would also look into the mixing between the new guitar and the old one, because they seem to clash. The sounds aren't coming through as cleanly as I feel they could be. That being said the new guitar is really cool. I like the melody and timbre, has a real rocker sound and the cuts where you just have the high hat sound even better in this section.

The cowbell you brough in around 2:34 really just sound bad in my opinion. It doesn't fit in very well and distracts from everything else.

Starting at 2:59, this is just too much. I can't hear any elements out and it just kinda sounds like a rhythmic clusterfuck.

The rhythmic clusterfuck didn't end till the end and franctly I found it really hard to listen too. I supose that that was what you were going for, but damn. Try removing elements from the song in the progression. You had a rhythm set and then you kept adding things on to it and really was just too much. I feel confused.

The idea was good, but the song kept going up. Sometimes music needs to go down in energy too.

Thanks for this valuable feedback. It will definitely help me improve on my mixing and arrangement decisions.

Thanks @fireawaymarmot much appreciated my friend! :-D Have a great evening.. I am adding the link to the update post, and in discord.

I personally like the funk feeling of this track, but am going to give you some collective feedback on this track to help you with building in the future.

The track has a decent ride up until the cowbells and guitars play in, they block out a great portion of the artistic ability of the track by running to close together in the mix. Sometimes, less is more when recording an instrument track. The repeated hit of the cow bell and such really accents the rest of the piano work and such mashing together. I would consider removing some of the instruments to give a clearer play through, especially around the 3 minute mark.

All in all, this has amazing potential to be a great track if you can clean up some of the pressing together that is encountered during the progressions of the track. At 4 minutes it all mashes together and really makes the first portion of the song which came together well, null and void.

I would go back through, remove a good portion of the mash up, and run through with some basic tracks. You will also want to find a happy medium where the track slows down, it doesn't have to heighten constantly. Reducing the amount of instruments running all at once is my best advice, and dying it down towards the end to leave a cleaner instrumental, would do you justice.

The concept was great, and the rhythm is there, you just need a little assistance with building tracks on a production level, which is why we are here. Thank you for the post of this, and for presenting it. If you need any advice or help with working on your projects, please do not hesitate to reach out to me @terminallyill!

Thanks for your feedback; it's very helpful. I do need to clean up the mix and will try your suggestions out.

Yes nice groove. Crisp and clear. The guitar or bass or tin can or whatever it is sounds fretless?
Lots of room for guitar nuances and atmosphere. Fill it up!! :)

Ah a solo.. I see why you waited so long and there are no chops :) Good one though.
Mental section now. Like the madness. Sounds circus like.
Dying for a key change now eh..
I have to stop :)
Good effort man. Got my ears twisting in a good way.
I like how you can play it from that little box there.
is that only available on soundcloud?
Cheers

Thanks for the input. My bass is a beat up old Wardair model and the reason it sounds fretless is that the action is way high - strings are like a half inch above the fretboard at the base of the neck. I thought about fixing it but decided I liked it that way, and the intonation was already off when it was first "lent" to me (by a friend who never wanted it back). I grow attached to my craptastic setup.
The song is on Spotify with an E.P. of my singles here. And I will likely upload to Dsound after doing some remixing.

Great stuff man. Love the term craptistic setup. I am also a member.
I simply am just not into modern tech.. its getting out of hand
I play a $50 guitar with a 10 yr old Boss RC2 loop station..
My nice guitar i play, which the intonation is terrible,, was given to me also.
So loving your story man.
Big follow right there.
Cheers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63914.94
ETH 3312.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92