You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SMA Feedback Contest - A DSound Community Initiative - Round 5 Is Live!

Here is my R5 entry for FEEDBACK CHALLENGE!
I will get to my reviews of all your works asap! or as many as possible!
enjoy, thanks and good luck to all!

My entry!
https://dsound.audio/#!/@hilladigahackles/20180321t075618288z-article-33-by-rofrantic-from-the-fat-earth-society-ep

fatearth-art.png

soundcloud back up
https://soundcloud.com/lefthouse-recordings/article_33_by_rofrantic_the_fa/s-SG59Y

Sort:  

I really really liked the clacky drums that came in at around 0:08. They're have a good amount of reverb on them and give a good atmosphere.

The Kick that came in at around 0:20 on the other hand felt to ... cheesy? It feels like it sounds industrial and has this weak subbass to it that I personally didn't enjoy. Maybe tighten it up a bit by removing some of the tail, but I think I would just prefer a kick that has more of that clacky feel to it like the drums that came before it.

The Siren transition at 0:32 was pretty cool. I liked the way it let the beat slide in. This entire section sounds pretty good sonically, but lacks some diversity. I noticed that I got pretty bored somewhere around the 1 minute mark and the boredness of it didn't fade out till about 2 minutes in.
Also around 0:48 there's this little digital beep that comes in and I think that if you put that more towards the front of your mix it would spice up the section.

At around 2:20 I went damn for a shot moment because I REALLY like the idea here. The wailing voice works really well with the bass to produce a smooth 80-90's industrial vibe. However, I think the intense use of hats in this section greatly reduces the effect of the combination and I would look to put in less or no hats, as well as making the voice a bit louder.

Whatever sound you used to transition the beat switch up around 2:55 was real slick and I love that it pertains in the song.

I find it really hard for me to give feedback on like the next minute of the song (till the next transition) simply because I don't think I've heard anything quite like this before. It's industrial, it's weird, it's got a train siren going on, but most importantly it seems to work together. Although till around 3:25 there's an instrument that's basically playing the same note the whole note this time and personal preference of mine doesn't like it.

Again the transition at 4:10 - ish is really well done props on those transitions for real here.

From roughly 4:20(blaze it) till 4:50 you have a section that's even weirder than the last. I am completely lost at what to say here, probably because that flute/siren thing sounds detuned to me.

The next minute or so sounds pretty good aside from the detuned flute/siren thing you bring in from time to time, albeit somewhat repetitive.

The outro was ok.

All in all this is, at least for me, a super weird and unique track with some rather interesting ideas that could use some sonic polishing. Check out some of my suggestions and see if you like it more or less.

Hope this helps you! :)

wonderful review! thanks for it! glad you mostly liked it!! and i agree, this tune could be tweaked a bit. it is not a full 100% tune for me just yet, but close. very close! thanks!!

I love this track, very spacey!

yes! thank you!!

Thanks for entry! Much appreciated my friend. :-D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59702.71
ETH 2542.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54