Beta Testing of smackdown.kitty is beginning...

in #smackdown-kitty7 years ago (edited)

has informed me that he thinks the kitten is ready to play in a sandbox, so myself, him, and possibly a few other users who have made statements to the effect that we are opposed to self voting, will now be placing 1% upvotes on every comment we make.

She will be loaded up with 500SP of delegated power, to start with, and the code will be configured so that she only acts upon our accounts.

We also have a secondary function in her where she gives small upvotes after a random delay to past self-voters, when they don't self-vote, and obviously, since the code that she will be running is on her github ( https://github.com/thrize/self-voter-flagger ) you are most welcome and invited to inspect the code if you are interested.

Once we are satisfied she works exactly as intended, then we will let her out to play.

Payout is declined because we aren't doing it for the money, we are doing it for both our personal moral codes and for the fame, naturally. We understand that this is going to be quite contentious, and we don't care what effect this has on reputation, or our rewards, so unleash your slings and barbs as much as you like. If one solid reason could be given, by anyone, to not do this, we would not, but it is my position that it is a universal law of social systems and decentralised, collaborative processes of discovery, extending from science, medicine, law, and every form of the discovery of knowledge.

Thankyou for reading, and let phase two of Project Smackdown begin.

Update

We have had to delay the beginning of the experiment because, just as sub 500SP accounts cannot vote as frequently as a 1% minimum vote can allow, means the bot must have at least this much SP to operate. @personz will be delegating some of his SP to this, and the SP in excess of this in my account (which I have earned largely from post rewards) I am just about to do the calculations and give the command in the cli_wallet.

Which reminds me, yesterday @personz and @the-ego-is-you (who is the third close collaborator in this project) pointed me to this: https://steemit.com/steem-project/@jesta/vessel-006-steem-power-delegation - Jesta's GUI wallet, which implements many of the features missing from the steemit.com wallet, including... dun dun dun SP delegation.

In fact, I am so impressed with @jesta's work that I am going to promote his wallet client in a payout declined post, momentarily, because this solves the complex part of how to power up kitty.

Sort:  

I have raised several objections, asked you to comment, and received no response relevant to those objections.

You are going to harm Steemit by unreasonably accusing people of doing something wrong, because you do not understand why they self vote, which I have carefully addressed here.

I ask you once more to actually read what I said. If you disagree with any point, simply quote it, and reply. You do not understand the issues, imho. As a result, the actions you propose taking are going to exacerbate the problem, rather than help solve it.

You are availed of the opportunity to read my explanation of them once again. It will not be through lack of understanding that you cause harm if you fail to consider what I say, but through deliberate ignorance.

Whatever you do will be on you, and the consequences of your actions, which I seek to redirect so as to NOT cause any harm to Steemit, or offense to people, will inevitably ensue. There's no other way I have of trying to prevent harm. The only thing I will be able to do if you do not understand what I have written regarding this undertaking and proceed to 'name and shame' people, is to try to mitigate the harm that comes from it.

While I wish you good luck, I would prefer you had good sense. Please take the time, but a few minutes, to read and consider what I have said on my post, before relying only on luck in this endeavor.

Simply saying 'read it again' does not achieve anything, because if you know your argument well, you can express it in a new way, that may succeed in reaching my awareness.

I am more than aware of the fact that by exercising my power, I may cause harm through error, and that I may also be deluded or blind to elements of my theory guiding my action, and it is for this reason that I am so keen to enter the discussion process, before I take this to the wider community.

We can continue this tomorrow, unless you have lost the heart to do so, or can prove to me by my own words that I have made a mistake in my judgement. My sense from the emotional undercurrents of this comment here, that you, like me, probably are tired of what is a mentally exhausting process of point and counterpoint, and especially in your case, because I think we may have slightly come to cross-purposes because you feel that your arguments are valid, and spent a lot of time enumerating them, and you think I have missed something important.

Don't forget that the original post I made, dwarfs the length and breadth of your responses to my interactions with you

Don't forget that the original post I made, dwarfs the length and breadth of my original post, as well as your responses to my responses to you so far, so you are not alone in having poured a lot of thought into this, I had to modify the post with a newspaper-style summary section, and I edited it more than a few times.

Not only that, but I have the disadvantage of being the first mover on this, in an area where a lot of complacence has accumulated, in the entire community, and recognising that I can benefit from demonstrating my capacity for good judgement, as well as the audacity to speak out. By being the first to speak up, I am subject to the reflexive responses, and I take every response as seriously as I can in order to continue to refine it and further dissolve the disagreement. I can only do this because I am centering my argument in abstract, universal principles, and I believe that this is necessary for someone who wishes to take on the responsibility of being part of community leadership.

Well, this may well be the case, and I will re-read your post, in detail, instead of mostly skimming it, out of respect. For the time being, it is time I gave due regard to my need to sleep.

Fair enough. Sleep well, I am off on a journey tomorrow, but, tired or not, am absolutely willing to engage with you per the requirements and purposes you state here, that you want to carefully examine the issues so as to achieve the benevolent purposes you intend.

I also am more than happy to dissolve disagreement. I apologize for any tone of disrespect, but greatly appreciate your willingness to at least read what I wrote, because we cannot dissolve disagreements unless we at least make an effort to understand one another.

Anyway, get some sleep, and feel free to post at me any time, and I will answer as best I can as soon as I can.

Preventing offense is not the goal. It must be clear that by adding a small flag to a self voted comment we are saying "reconsider this". There is in plenty of support for the opinion against self voting, if disagreement on the methods.

A down vote / flag is not harm. A report on what is public information anyway is not harm. It is scrutiny, which is what everyone is under on this blockchain for all their actions.

For my part I will respond to the post you mention, but damn it is pretty long and I have limited time. I hope to read it in the next day.

"A down vote / flag is not harm." I hope to clarify this point just a little here. While some folks will consider a down vote harm, it is not that specifically I seek to prevent, but the contention amongst the community, that I do think will be harm.

@aggroed recently posted regarding some misadventures involving flags, with remarkable honesty and vulnerability, and I hope you might profit from his education in that event.

I really appreciate your willingness to at least consider my (lengthy) ruminations on the topic. I only devoted the effort because I am experiencing negative impact of VP decay, and see I am not alone, and also have come to understand that weight voting via SP is causing Steemit to not grow as I believe it can, and further that those that cast self votes are either trapped by the vote weighting so as to have no reasonable option, or merely haven't understood that it's actually less rewarding to Steemit, and them personally, than curating other's content.

I am impressed that you have expended your time and treasure to build this mechanism, and others also, out of your desire to benefit Steemers, and Steemit. If I can, I want to prevent you from having the opposite effect you clearly seek, and to add what help I can in your effort to benefit this community.

When you get a chance to have at it, I will be all the more appreciative. I'm going to see my mom tomorrow, so won't be around to correct until afterwards. You should have time to prepare properly to rip all my arguments to shreds =p.

I'm with l0k1 on this, when he says he wants to dissolve disagreements. If I'm wrong in any part, I deeply desire you to set me straight, so that I can join you in being right.

TTYS, I hope.

Nice job @lok1! 500SP.. I wouldn't mind lol :D!

Let the Smackdown begin!
11bb420608e44dc995fe61b4e8b46ffa.jpg

@personz really deserves the credit for the work on the code. I was reluctant to try to do it because it's been a long time since I worked with steem-python, he's doing it in a language he is clearly very comfortable with, so of course I was very glad he piped up.

Yeah definitely! People need to be receiving the value they deserve! My latest post is actually about that exact topic! You can let me know what your thoughts are. Well done mate :)

Did I read it right in the other post. After Kitty upvoted a coment you can upvote your own comment?

Yes, we are not going to hound people any further than this. No need plus we have limited resources to account for. But you won't know how long you have to wait. But we are going to randomly select the reformers who didn't upvote after previously doing this, with a delay randomly between 2 and 8 hours, because we are not going to make it as easy as gentle bot. Also, we expect some trolling with people waiting a whole day and such, or thinking maybe we didn't think of the fact they could not upvote one, and then upvote the next. If that happens before the upvote triggers, it's back to zero.

It wouldn't be fun to play with a cat if they weren't a bit schizy.

WOW YOU'RE SUCH A DICK!!!! Dude, you Fucking Asshole. Are you not aware that almost all of the sites that work with Steem upvote your own posts by default? Further more ... how the FUCK is anyone upvoting their own stuff harming you or anyone?

You're a goddamn asshole and you know it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27