Slow Rolling Home Logo Design Contest

in #slowrollinghome6 years ago (edited)

A few days ago @ameliabartlett contacted me and told me about this contest for a logo design for their slow rolling home. It looked really cool and I liked the idea of the bus/home moving around allowing them to take pictures and travel all over the continent (hopefully).

The main issue was that all logo design had to incorporate their bus as part of the design. Not A bus. THEIR bus. Since the sideways view seemed way too long for a logo design I opted to use the front view presented in the post.

DQmZixxVNG8a63biwmX48qzAvMEf95R79mBD3mS4wKPwtkc_1680x8400.jpg

I moved it to Indesign and started by doing a rough trace of the bus. For logo design you don't have to capture every little detail - it's more important to get the feel of the shape. Here's the initial bus.

1.jpg

And here it is with a little bit of shading.

2.jpg

Since the shape isn't as symmetrical as I would like for a logo design I thought I would contain it in a circle. Since Amelia said they would be traveling all over the American continent, I added that continent to the design placing the bus over a seeming globe.

I traced the outside of the globe with a dotted line, a reference to the way movies used to indicate travel - by drawing a dotted line over a map. Here's the next stage of the design.

3.jpg

As a basic design it's not bad but it definitely needs some color. Amelia said they liked pastels and muted tones so I tried working with that color pallet.

4.jpg

I ended up with a logo that can be used as a patch over cloths, hats, shirts etc'. The bus is very distinct so I don't think it can be mistaken for anything other than the slow rolling home.

@ameliabartlett asked me to add the distinctive side mirrors of the bus, so here they are:

Slow Rolling Home.jpg

I hope @ameliabartlett and her partner Alhen like this design.

Sort:  

cool design, and thanks for the run-through of your process.

If think though that the shadow at the bottom looks a bit out of place for a logo. Also, your last export seems a bit blurry, while the others look sharp.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60741.21
ETH 3379.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52