Let me Introduce Myself to Slothicorn!

in #slothicorn7 years ago (edited)

wildmotif.png

Hello Slothicornians (is that a thing?)

6827F4EC-FD85-4732-81B0-651558674A96.jpeg

Here is my introduction post for Slothicorn. I am going to treat this post as a bit of a job interview with a 'why me?' and a 'why you-Slothicorn' layout.

Why Me?

I don't typically call myself an artist, because I usually work with photographs...but I am not your typical photographer either. I consider myself somewhere in between. I have always been a creative driven person. I would say photography is my go-to medium for expression but I frequently explore other areas of art. And by that I mean, mediums, genres, histories...basically anything. For the past 6 months I have been channeling that energy into fan art. Which has been fun to create, but really doesn't have much purpose overall. As a result I have had a few people request commissions, but I feel strongly adverse to the idea of that for some reason. Here's an example of some of the artsy things I have done recently:

underwatergirl.jpg
pencil drawing scanned and colored in photoshop

thegreatcocktexture.jpg
digital fan art for the magicians in a folk art style

eliot.jpg
digital painting fan art for the magicians

Why Slothicorn

When I found out about Slothicorn here on Steemit, firstly I did not understand...as my curiosity grew I found myself searching for more information for what it was all about. I am new to the whole crypto currencies world, I have only been on steemit for maybe 3 weeks. However, I was drawn to the idea of creating art with the creative commons attribution because unlike fan art, it would give my artistic explorations a whole new life. Also there is the possibility of making a little bit of money to help sustain my creative pursuits.

Or you know, maybe finally afford that root canal I need so badly...but I digress.

I found this extremely helpful:
https://steemit.com/slothicorn/@stellabelle/rules-for-submitting-a-post-to-slothicorn
https://creativecommons.org/licenses

Taking the First Step

I have to say I was intimidated, because I wasn't really sure what crypto theme elements I would need in my artwork to make it qualify. I tried my best to research and look at previous submissions. I saw a lot of actual slothicorns...and a lot of junk. So heading into it was mentally fuzzy for me. I decided why not find my way through it, and share that process with everyone as I go? Create my own content that I feel fits the theme, grow and expand as I learn.

I have already made one contribution to Slothicorn, you can check it out here:
https://steemit.com/slothicorn/@wildempress/my-first-artwork-for-slothicorn

I have plans in place for a crypto-theme inspiration post. Where I will be brainstorming symbols and themes that I feel can be fit into the cryptoart world. I will be making some content to share and contribute within those posts, and hopefully start a discussion about what is considered crypto.

I realized that as artists we might not be the most adept in the areas of currencies and technologies, and we are drawn more to whimsical and organic elements...this is why I think the literal slothicorn was so widely embraced. So I really want to explore that more...how can whimsy and nature, two things that are very strong inspirations in the art world be combined with things like money and computers to provide value to the crypto community while being palatable to the artist.Abigailartnouveu.jpg
digital fan art in a art nouveau style for...you guessed it the magicians...they have a royal sloth

I would love more discussion on this feel free to leave questions and comments! ![wildmotif.png]

vanessa3.jpg

Sort:  

This is a great introduction post as the point of view of an artist. #slothicornintro hashtag is a great idea and soon it will become one of the top tags here.

I REALLY hope it helps cut down on scammers!! Yay me, I’m the first to try it out 🙌

This is fantastic! And we will be using your idea of having all artists do a introduceyourself post before we support them, just as you did. Thanks for joining us and helping get better!

I’m really hoping this catches on and helps future contributors become more like people we can all get to know and have conversations with!

Yes, I will make a post about this, then link to it so that it becomes a normal part of the group and how we operate.

I drafted up a post you can use/edit as you see fit I dropped a link to a google doc in the discord general channel

Follow me for upvotes | Send 0.200 Steem or 0.200 SBD and the URL in the memo to use the bot for a resteem and to get over 5 upvots.

I like your effort and your work is impressive! Thanks. Upvoted.

Thank you 😊

I enjoy seeing your work. Looks like you're having fun with it. I'm new to Steemit so haven't ventured into any coin-related work. @slothicorn

That’s great! Start crafting an introduction post about what kind of art you do and what draws you to Slothicorn! Can’t wait to learn more about you 😊

Oh wow!I love your work! Elliot looks amazing! I have been posting myself for only about 21\2 weeks on Steemit and have just recently stumbled across Slothicorn and my heart leapt. My daughter and I have been planning some drawings, and I started one last night, so far so fun:)

That’s great to hear it can be overwhelming, but yes you should just jump on in :)

Also Eliot is my favsies 😍 love that character sooo much

Nice post @wildempress...welcome to slothicorn...nice to see you here in slothicorn

Thank you! I’m thinking Slothicorn will be an excellent fit for me, I’m excited to contribute to such a cool community 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80