Hyperrealistic drawing of a typical African Woman

in #slothicorn6 years ago

This is not a photo! It is rather a carefully and patiently done pencil drawing. The image is one of several works of mine in a genre of art called Hyperrealism. For those that aren't familiar with the term, let me walk you through it a little bit.

What is Hyperrealism?

Wikipedia - Hyperrealism is a genre of painting and sculpture resembling a high-resolution photograph.

I would say it is a form of art aimed at a perfect rendering of a model or reference photo, carefully studying the effect of light and paying attention to every last detail. Artists in this line of art are usually called Hyperrealists. It takes a lot of patience, practice and time to do such art, in fact I always say to inquisitors about this kind art "the better you get, the more time you spend" and vice versa. I spend up to 20, 30, 50 hours or more on each drawing depending on the reference photo and drawing size. Of course it can be achieved with so many media; pencils, paints, clay and many more.

Over the years I have mastered and I'm currently still practicing the pencil technique. I have always loved pencils, especially the fact that they are very easy to control and are very precise when drawing. I mostly draw with Steadtler graphite pencils and Generals charcoal pencils on white paper, most preferably acid free cartridge paper.

However to achieve such realistic drawings, I use many other materials with many different functions. Let me make a short list indicating some of them and their functions.

  • Q-tips(cotton buds)
    It may sound funny but cotton buds are one of my favorite drawing materials. I use them to blend while shading to achieve very smooth textures and also to apply graphite and charcoal powder to my drawings.

  • Brushes
    Brushes are also very good for blending and achieving very smooth textures while drawing, They are not as easy to control as cotton buds so I mostly use them to blend larger areas like the backgrounds of my drawings.

  • Tortillons or Blending Stomps
    Tortillons look like pencils, but are mostly made from paper. They have sharp mouths good for smoothening very tiny areas in drawing. They are also generally the best for blending while using charcoal pencils

  • Graphite and Charcoal powder
    These are very useful for achieving very smooth tones and quickly covering larger areas while shading. They ease up the stress and time taken to shade with pencils.

  • Kneaded rubber eraser and pencil erasers
    Kneaded rubber erasers are moldable and can take any form you want. They are useful for gently removing layers of pencil from your drawings, creating highlights without removing the whole shading. Pencil erasers on the other hand look like pencils but have erasers as the lead. They are very easy to control and very good for highlighting while drawing hair.

I will also like to share with you progress shots I took while doing this drawing in case you're inquisitive and to clear any doubts.

Progress shot 1; The face and neck

IMG_20180215_160002.jpg

Progress shot 2; The African head gear

IMG_20180215_223835.jpg

Progress shot 3; Started working on the laced cloth

IMG_20180216_153202.jpg

Progress shot 4; More work on the lace

IMG_20180216_184718.jpg

Progress shot 5: Completed the laced cloth and jewelry

IMG_20180217_144303.jpg

The final shot; I decided to add a background with charcoal.

IMG_20180219_093313_473.jpg

Summary

Title: African Woman
Size: 16x12 inches
Medium: graphite and charcoal pencils on white paper
Duration: 30+ hours

So there it is, Hyperrealism is real and achievable. You can do it! yes you! Just like any other thing in life, you just have to work hard at it with consistent practice and be determined. I'm not the best and I learn everyday too, but I may be able to help you by giving you some tips. Kindly indicate it if you would like me to post some tutorials on Hyperrealism here.

Thanks for reading this, I'm new here so your upvotes, resteems and comments would be much appreciated. Thanks again.
@slothicorn @artzone @lovejuice

Do check out my previous posts, links below:

(Yoruba T'Challa) https://steemit.com/slothicorn/@promisearts/yoruba-t-challa-inspired-by-the-black-panther-movie

(Hyperrealistic drawing of Timi Dakolo) https://steemit.com/slothicorn/@promisearts/my-pencil-drawing-of-timi-dakolo

(Drawing of Neymar) https://steemit.com/slothicorn/@promisearts/my-drawing-of-neymar

(James Brown drawing) https://steemit.com/slothicorn/@promisearts/james-brown-freehand-drawing

References: Wikipedia

Sort:  

Wow, that is some good artwork @promisearts. Impressive and talented too! I wish that I had that much creativity, sadly I do not. But I am a great appreciator of great works of art & all things creative. Keep up the great work. Upvoted for sure!

Thanks a lot friend, I'm sure you'll soon find your talent too, it's in us all!

Excelente trabajo, gracias por compartirlo, es impresionante.

Gracias amigos

Your arts are really awesome @promisearts. I'm glad you are on steemit. Welcome to steemit.

Thanks a lot friend, kindly follow back to see more

I'm happy that you are showcasing your talent to the world on steemit.

thank you brother, hope to have a nice blog like you sometime

Very cool, very well done. 100% upvoted. Just gave you a follow.

thanks titusu

This is absolutely beautiful @promisearts. I love that you have given so much detail into the process of your work, and the end result is stunning!

Thank you so much friend, do follow me to see more

amazing work bro, keep it up

Thanks a lot bro, kindly follow me to see more

Nice work Bro! Congratz!

Nice work

Thanks friend, do follow back too see more

Thanks for using #artzone tag! Artzone can give just one upvote per day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63700.12
ETH 3136.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83