Self-Portrait - Portrait Contest

in #slothicorn6 years ago (edited)

Things that scared me for drawing, portraits and worst, self-portraits, so basically joining this contest was facing the fear itself, and this is one of the reasons for joining so late. At the end I loved the result and it wasn’t anything like I thought it would be (In my mind the result was disastrous).

final-3.jpg

I saw a style of drawing where the main subject was colored with highlighters markers, so I decided to try it because I love colorful drawings.

This drawing is my entry to the Portrait Contest hosted by @sethlinson, you can check more about the contest here.

Note: This drawing was specially made for this contest, even though the date under my signature says 01/06/18 (today), it’s for June 1st, I live in Latin America where we use DD/MM/YY to represent the date.

Before Starting:

First of all, this is me:

IMG_20180406_085406.jpg

And I’m my worst judge, in all the areas, as student, in my job and for my body and face, so I started by looking at myself and seeing what it stands out on me. I see my big forhead, my uneven lips, my sassy eyebrow (I noticed that I always have an eyebrow up), everything that somedays I hate, but most of the time I love.

Fun fact About Me:

I have art training in the field of architecture, doing technical drawing, digital art, 3D modelling and photorealism, I don’t have a training in what people might call art, but in 2010 I took art classes that I left after 2 months for personal issues (my best friend lost the teacher’s umbrella, the last belonging she had of her deceased mother, there’s no way I was going to return after that). During my short period there I learnt how to draw eyes, noses, lips and ears, but I never learn how to construct the face. I enjoyed learning how to draw “properly”, but I doing portraits wasn’t my main goal there, this is why after I left I barely practice these things.

Sin título-1.png

Fun fact About Me:

I have art training in the field of architecture, doing technical drawing, digital art, 3D modelling and photorealism, I don’t have a training in what people might call art, but in 2010 I took art classes that I left after 2 months for personal issues (my best friend lost the teacher’s umbrella, the last belonging she had of her deceased mother, there’s no way I was going to return after that). During my short period there I learnt how to draw eyes, noses, lips and ears, but I never learn how to construct the face. I enjoyed learning how to draw “properly”, but I doing portraits wasn’t my main goal there, this is why after I left I barely practice these things.

Sin título-1.png

Materials:

  • Lead holder with a HB 2mm lead.
  • Mechanical Pencil with a HB 0,5mm lead.
  • Eraser.
  • Sketchbook.
  • Highlighters markers (pink, orange, yellow, blue and green).
  • Black fine liner marker.
  • Black fat marker.

IMG_20180601_174154.jpg

The Process:

I started by sketching lines for the base.

IMG_20180601_174829.jpg

I drew the features of my face.

IMG_20180601_181232.jpg

MY uneven lips (hey might not be so uneven, but that's how I saw them today), my sassy eyebrow and my eyes my usual cat eyeliner.

IMG_20180601_184316.jpg

Then I started painting with highlighters markers.

IMG_20180601_185353.jpg

With the black fine liner marker I added some definition.

IMG_20180601_185835.jpg

And to finish I added black to the hair.

IMG_20180601_190652.jpg

Thank you for passing by and reading my post!

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

licence.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62094.36
ETH 2436.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50