The World Cries | A teardrop artwork | An Art Process | Art Blog # 4

in #slothicorn6 years ago

The World is crying for help...

IMG_20180401_181808.jpg

We can't deny that the world we are living in is changing. Global warming and climate change have been two of the most emerging problems we can feel and see right now. It has come to my attention that there are still people who don't care about what's happening and disregard both the short and long term effects these problems bring.

As I was browsing through my news feed, I got an inspiration to make an artwork about those problems aforementioned. For these past few days, I have also seen the efforts of Mr. Terry, also known as @surpassinggoogle, in helping my fellow Filipinos on this platform hence the teardrop concept. I combined both of the ideas for my artwork today. Below is the process of how I made it.

Drawing the Teardrop

IMG_20180401_150415.jpg
First, I've drawn a circle, which served as my guide for the teardrop shape. Outside it, about a cm thick, I've outlined another circle but with the shape of a drop.


Sketching the Climate Change concept

IMG_20180401_152407.jpg
As you can see, I've erased the circle I made earlier. I sketched another border which was half a cm thick inside the teardrop. Within the line will be where my environmental issues be drawn. I started off by drawing a gas mask, which represents how polluted our air is at the moment.

IMG_20180401_154654.jpg
At the upper part of the teardrop, I added some ice-capped mountains which are slowly melting because of global warming. Below that were the dying trees and remains after illegal logging.

IMG_20180401_154708.jpg
A closer look at the upper part.

IMG_20180401_162102.jpg
Then I sketched various buildings or a concrete jungle. Adjacent to the gas mask is the industrial pollution caused by the factories.

IMG_20180401_165648.jpg
At the bottom part, I've drawn toxic materials and trash (tires/rubbers, cans, plastic bottles, waste drainage) that fill up our oceans right now causing the death of sea creatures and other living things. As a little tribute to the last Albino Rhino who died a few weeks ago, I put it on the right side of my teardrop along with some skulls that represent death.

IMG_20180401_170042.jpg
After filling everything inside the teardrop, I headed to trace the draft with black ink.

Tracing and detailing

IMG_20180401_172206.jpg
I first used my Unipin 0.5 to trace the bigger drawings.

IMG_20180401_173149.jpg
Then I used Unipin 0.1, for the shading and adding of details. I first opted for a crisscrossed shading but I preferred the uniformed horizontal lines to make it look clean.

IMG_20180401_175940.jpg
For the smoke in the factories, I used pointillism technique where I used Unipin 0.3 and 0.1 for a different effect.

IMG_20180401_180701.jpg
With the use of a marker, I filled in the half cm border I made earlier and used it to highlight the teardrop.

IMG_20180401_181922.jpg
I call this The World Cries as it literally shows how much our environment is suffering from all the things humankind did.

I hope that we can still save our Earth because we only got one world to live in. No one is exempted to make necessary efforts to clean it. Let's start with ourselves. Let us be more responsible citizens. Let's turn the teardrop of sadness into happiness.

I know there still hope.

I know we can.

This has been my fourth art blog and my third art process,
All the love,

Kayenine 💖

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

I agree with your parting words. There is only one earth that we live in and we should be concerned in preserving it.

Yes. Yes. I hope we all make a difference and help our Earth. Thanks for readin @leeart!

I liked your little teardrop and the description of the why. So often we are left at guessing at the artist meaning of a piece of work. I think you did a very nice job of presenting the problem, and offering a solution if people are willing to try, we may be able to make a difference.

I'm flattered with your comment @bashadow. Thank you for reading my blog. I guess it's better for artists to explain what they're doing to enlighten the minds of their viewers especially when it's confusing.

To me it was pretty easy to see the message, but some "art pieces" can be pretty abstract, and then the message gets lost.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61228.86
ETH 2663.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54