My Singularity Pandora Painting Progress and happy May Day.

in #slothicorn6 years ago

The continuing layers of my Pandora painting, working on the background.

may1robotpandorathumbnail.jpg

And here is a larger section of the piece.
may1robotpandora.jpg

As some of you may know, who have been following along with this piece, I have done many iterations of it. It all started with this sketch here.
march28pandorasketch.jpg
And that was at the end of March and here we are the first of May. However, this piece is sort of a turning point in my Singularity series. A series born from my being on Steemit and the wonderful impressions and influences of the great artists to be found on our wonderful platform.

This series started out as an idea and now has become a collection in my head probably large enough to be an entire show

Having really begun to consider this world and these creatures I am creating I began to feel that I wanted their world to be more detailed. Over the past few years I have embraced a simplicity in some of my work combined with the need to feel I am finishing smaller pieces daily and to really shake the cobwebs out of my work. However, now with this series I find I want to make more detailed settings for them; like little sets or doll houses to place them in.

Having placed this character in nature at first, I felt the need to have her discover her "Pandora's box" (an old laptop from the 'before times) in the abandoned manse where perhaps she once dwelled or maybe came upon. I am toying with the idea of letting brushwork simply demonstrate the ruin (as you see in the ceiling) over getting too highly detailed. I even went back in and began to loosen her face paint up a bit.

I am still doing drawings and sketchings daily now, but then find more of my 'finalizing' time has been going to working on this piece. I think I might take a break this week and work on other pieces as well as some simple watercolours and maybe some fun dada.nyc drawings ( I have been absent from that site a bit over the past two weeks)

This painting has had the wonderful result of making me look at painting in a new way again, as a series of story lines.

I am happy with the journey thus far and really, for me, art IS the journey and the process.

Now, I have earned my garden time and the sun is shinning, so I have to get out and enjoy before we get our daily rain again. I hope all of you get a chance to art or do whatever creative endeavour you enjoy today and at least look at a flower or plant, even if it's just on the computer.


If you like my work please upvote and feel free to resteem and by all means leave comments.


Check out my other posts:


asteemitfooter.jpg

My bitcoin wallet as per the @slothicorn request to provide it with your artwork.

Sort:  

Very dream-like painting. The contrast between the green of the corset and the white dress is eye-popping. I love it!

Thank you so much, I played with a few colour variations and liked her being 'green' like a plant. @ddschteinn said it reminded him of a funny old Carol Burnett skit about Scarlet O'hara, which made me laugh and then knew it had to stay green :)

her dress is really AWESOME , love it ,specially the bottom of it , pink parts and sun beams .. :)

I've spent a lot of time on that bit. I love Fashion history so these kind of details excite me. I was trying to build up light with transparent overlays to give it a look of illumination from underneath, like her power source shining through. I actually started to paint down some of the detail in this version, as I felt I was making it too crisp and I wanted the tightened clarity to be on her face and torso.

I told her the same sometimes ago. I hope she doesn't touch the dress.

sandrina <3 so you are agree with me :)

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Thanks so much @opheliafu, I've probably been obsessing about it a bit too much, but then again art and the joy of making it is a bit of an obsession, isn't it; a good obsession. :)

She is becoming alive, and surrounding, wow this one is a killer @donnadavisart. So much work is put in this one, I can see how well it progress. Love this one girl!

I can become obsessed a bit, but I'm enjoying the ride. And when I find I have arrived at the right combination of painterly and representation I will know better for the next one in this series. That is part of the fine, finding the style for the piece, for me anyway.

I don't see this as obsession, just your way for doing thing right until you feel satisfied. And that's great, not leaving things unfinished and taking them bit further each time.

That is a seriously cool idea and Nice colors. Look forward to the finished result!

Thank you so much. It is a fun new obsession :)

Looks good, like the painterly style.

Thanks, I think I am going to fall more on the Impressionism side and really leave a lot of brush strokes. I love one when thick stroke or dab can really be a bit of burning light or suggest a doorway.

So beautiful! Loving the progression!

That looks amazing. The clothes look almost real with the creases and folds in the right places.

Thank you, my intent is to really pull focus to the main character whilst the surroundings become increasingly hazy and painterly as they recede into the background, or something like that ;)

That's great! It really does look like that ^^

You got a 1.15% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @donnadavisart!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59989.12
ETH 2380.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49