Karate - My life style

in #slothicorn6 years ago (edited)

Hi guys, have a huge greeting! Today I have decided to share with you another type of art (not drawings) that I practice from a very young age, specifically from 9 years of age. An art that has influenced a lot in my life and has shaped me partly as a person and influenced my way of being or life. I'm talking about Karate - Do Traditional Shotokan style. I must clarify that I am a simple apprentice of this martial art, so if there is something I am wrong about or something that they would like to contribute, I will be more than welcome and grateful.

IMG-20150603-WA0000.jpg


Karate - Do

Karate is one of the oldest martial arts, whose origin goes back to the island of Okinawa. The word karate derives etymologically in Japanese from kara ("empty"), te ("hand") - "empty hand" - and Do ("way", "philosophy of life"), literally meaning "The empty hand path" ", Since its practitioners do not use weapons for the fight, only their own hands and feet.

11236470_913733108668119_1404206570939197213_n.jpg

His techniques are based on the great philosophical and spiritual tradition of Bushido, which seeks spiritual and physical harmony, through a very rigorous training. However, it also includes principles of Zen Buddhism and Shintoism. In fact, it is a very complete training, since it demands a lot of discipline, coordination, concentration, agility and mental ability.

26993270_10214235584137381_6481851690613646281_n.jpg

In addition, contrary to what most people think, karate is not a competitive training or much less aggressive, because in reality what they seek is personal and spiritual improvement, encourages the person to go beyond their own limitations and achieve your goals. Of course, it is also a method of self-defense, developing the reflexes, flexibility and physical abilities of its practitioners.

11165247_913738955334201_206425536473189442_n.jpg


Sensei or Master

"Sensei" is a term that is usually translated as a teacher but its meaning is much deeper. In Japanese, their kanjis mean: "before" and "life" . That is, "born before". It is not necessary for the sensei to be older than the disciple, but to have been "born earlier in the discipline" that he teaches.

IMG-20161010-WA0003.jpg

Personally, throughout my practice in karate, I have known and trained with many sensei. However, only 3 of them, I have considered as my true teachers and are very appreciated people for me. The sensei "Gabriela Caldera", a young girl who more than my teacher, I consider her as an older sister or mother for me. She is a girl who, despite being so young, has achieved so many things in karate and all because of her love for him, which attracts and captivates her to continue practicing. He is currently away but doing what he loves the most, practicing karate and filling himself with knowledge with one of the greatest sensei that can exist.

The sensei "Luis Caldera" (@arturocl21), a boy I know since I started my karate practice. He is someone who has seen how he has overcome as a person and how he has grown up in this martial art, becoming a highly respected sensei among the students. I admit that at first I did not have much deal with him, because the truth was I was not very social as a girl (right now but I have improved), however, I currently consider him as one of my few friends or "known favorite" .

Last but not least, the sensei "Camilo Gómez" (@kamilo.sin.k2105), a boy with a lot of energy, whom I met in my karate practices and who is now a very dear sensei among his students, especially for me . Yes, I am sensei's girlfriend :o Despite that, he is very strict and an excellent teacher of both martial art and life. It is someone who has guided and helped me in many aspects of my life.

1926788_10203438436065377_1818900310_n.jpg

To these three great people, I consider them as my teachers or sensei and I thank them with all my heart for guiding me and instructing me in this art.


DOJO

The place where Karate-Do is practiced is called in Japanese "DOJO." In Japanese, Dojo 道場 literally means "place of the way." This expression refers to the pursuit of physical, moral, mental and spiritual perfection, whether for martial arts or some religious practices, such as Buddhism and the practice of zazen, a state of contemplation in which the practitioner acquires a state of detachment from the material world and from vain and selfish ideas that impede a direct vision of the reality.

10003941_715603568490874_1076157831_n.jpg

I belong to the Dojo "Shiro Obi" currently directed by sensei "Camilo Gómez". In this place, I share and train with people who, more than fellow practitioners, are like my brothers. We are all part of a family, the family of the "Shiro Obi Dojo".

14344927_617086115129273_893454715401431529_n.jpg

I could continue writing about the virtues of karate, but not to make this post longer and tedious, I will leave it for today until here. There are diverse and great teachings that this martial art can offer us. However, today I will not deal so deeply with it. Alone I have to say that, karate is my lifestyle, at least I try, being a better person, and without abandoning it. It is not easy to continue training, especially when your circumstances change, but I think the training is personal, not to convenience, but sincere. Learning thousands of kata does not make us better karatekas, but perseverance and patience to perfect one.

15420983_10154162892686239_3651648694556113005_n.jpg


Thank you all for reading my post. I hope you liked it and can support me with a vote, comment, reesteem or any suggestion. I would appreciate it very much. No more to say, I say goodbye.

Oss!!!


If you want to use my ArtWork, don't forget credit me
29136137_677754419282259_5167962790966591488_n.png
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International Licens


See my last Drawing: Ponyo on the Cliff

👈 Previous post

Spanish version 👉

Sort:  

Hehe your images are like those from Karate Kid!

jajajaja xD son fotos muy viejas! xD

excellent article

thaks you very much!! :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ArletV from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55041.56
ETH 2459.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18